Learn more about the projects that our researchers are making a difference through:

  • Building an interdisciplinary team to train graduatestudents with a $3 million NSF grant
  • Conducting research on the Hubble Space Telescope
  • Working on ground-breaking cancer research with a $1.9 million NIH grant
  • Advising as a theory lead on solar winds research as part of a team of researchers from leading universities that received the largest grant from NASA
  • Providing assessment tools for chemistry-centric high school teachers and college professors 
  • Using numerical methods to help reduce nuclear waste in our oceans
  • Investigating and controlling properties of layered electronic systems with a $500,000 NSF CAREER award
  • Making a difference through creating tools to help people who have diabetes
  • Receiving an honor of a Gutenberg Chair for his scientific contributions
  • Sharing the importance of advocacy and being recognized by the American Physical Society

KAREN MCNEAL, Department of Geosciences

Karen McNeal and an interdisciplinary Auburn team are the recipients of a highly competitive $3 million grant from the National Science Foundation’s Division of Graduate Education that will train graduate
students with a focus on climate resiliency. Read more

DENNIS BODEWITS, Department of Physics

Dr. Dennis Bodewits leads a team that received six orbits of time to use the Hubble Space Telescope in 2019. Last year, he conducted research on the Hubble Space Telescope for more than two days to observe Comet 46P/Wirtanen. Read more

MONIKA RAJ, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 

Monika Raj has received a $1.9 million, five-year Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award (MIRA) (R35) from the National Institute of Health, National Institute of General Medical Sciences. In 2018, Dr. Raj received a $650,000 CAREER award from the National Science Foundation and was a recipient of the 2019 Early Career Lectureship from the American Peptide Society. Read more

YU LIN, Department of Physics

Yu Lin is part of a team of researchers working on a record $115 million project awarded to the University of Iowa by NASA. The grant will fund the creation and launch of two datacollecting satellites that will orbit a few hundred miles above. These satellites will be known as TRACERS standing for Tandem Reconnection
and Cusp Electrodynamics Reconnaissance Satellites. Read more

JORDAN HARSHMAN, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 

Jordan Harshman is the recipient of a grant from the National Science Foundation for $186,657.
The goal of the project is to create a robust chemistry-centric portal where educators from high schools and colleges can easily find instruments for assessments that already have been screened for the proper validation necessary. Read more

THI THAO PHUONG HOANG, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Thi Thao Phuong Hoang is the recipient of a National Science Foundation award for $149,660 focusing on numerical methods. Learn how she will be using this award to work on large-scale problems that impact the environment. Read more

MARCELO KURODA, Department of Physics 

Marcelo Kuroda is the recipient of a $536,000 National Science Foundation CAREER award. This prestigious award is given for his innovative perspective to understand and control the properties of these layered systems using theory and atomistic calculations. Read more

CHRIS EASLEY, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 

Chris Easley is the recipient of the 2019 AES Electrophoresis Society Mid-Career Achievement award for his research in in the field of diabetes and obesity research. Read more

STEPHEN DOBSON, Department of Biological Sciences 

Stephen Dobson has received the prestigious honor as a Gutenberg Chair, which only eight people were selected for in 2019. Read more

SARIT DHAR, Department of Physics 

Sarit Dhar received the 5 Sigma Physicist Award from the American Physical Society for performing outstanding advocacy that is crucial to maintaining the strength of U.S. scientific enterprise” as mentioned in APS News, June 2019. Read more