The CBMS Conference: Mathematical Methods for Novel Metamaterials

May 20 - 24, 2024


  Professor Habib Ammari

Habib Ammari is a Professor of Applied Mathematics at ETH Zurich. His research interest include mathematical fundamentals for metamaterials and topological properties at subwavelength scales mathematical modeling in photonics and phononics, and mathematical biomedical imaging. He has published more than three hundred research papers, eight high profile research-oriented books and edited eight books on contemporary issues in applied mathematics. He has advised thirty-nine PhD students and twenty seven postdoctoral researchers. He has one hundred sixty co-authors, originally from thirty-six different countries. Professor Habib Ammari was awarded a European Research Council Advanced Grant in 2010 in recognition of the excellence of his achievements and his outstanding research program in mathematical imaging. He was named the 2013 winner of the Kuwait Prize in Basic Sciences and received this prestigious prize from His Highness the Emir of Kuwait. In 2015, he was the recipient of the Khwarizmi International Award in Basic Sciences, which is the highest honor accorded by His Excellency the President of the Islamic Republic of Iran for intellectual achievement. Habib Ammari has been a fellow of the Tunisian Academy of Sciences, Letters and Arts since 2015 and of the European Academy of Sciences since 2018. Since 2021, he has been also fellow of the American Mathematical Society (2022 Class) and the Academia Europaea. He is listed as an ISI highly cited researcher.


Professor Andrea Alu  

Andrea Alu a Distinguished Professor at the City University of New York (CUNY), the Founding Director of the Photonics Initiative at the CUNY Advanced Science Research Center, and the Einstein Professor of Physics at the CUNY Graduate Center. His research interests span over a broad range of technical areas, including applied electromagnetics, nano-optics and nanophotonics, microwave, THz, infrared, optical and acoustic metamaterials and metasurfaces, plasmonics, nonlinearities and nonreciprocity, cloaking and scattering, acoustics, optical nanocircuits and nanoantennas. He received his Laurea (2001) and PhD (2007) from the University of Roma Tre, Italy, and, after a postdoc at the University of Pennsylvania, he joined the faculty of the University of Texas at Austin in 2009, where he was the Temple Foundation Endowed Professor until Jan. 2018. Professor Alu is a Fellow of NAI, AAAS, IEEE, MRS, OSA, SPIE and APS. He has received several scientific awards, including a Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship, the 2021 Blavatnik National Award for Physical Sciences and Engineering, the 2020 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award, the 2016 ICO Prize in Optics, the 2015 NSF Alan T. Waterman award, the 2013 OSA Adolph Lomb Medal, and the 2011 URSI Issac Koga Gold Medal.


Professor Oscar Bruno  

Oscar Bruno is a Professor of Applied and Computational Mathematics at Caltech. His research work focuses on development of accurate, high-performance numerical PDE solvers to model realistic scientific and engineering configurations, especially in optics and electromagnetics, numerical analysis and computational science as a result of intricate and/or singular geometries as well as solution singularities, resonances, nonlinearities, high-frequencies, dispersion, etc. Recently developed Fourier Continuation (FC) and integral-equation techniques, which can successfully tackle such challenges, have enabled accurate solution of previously intractable PDE problems of fundamental importance in science and engineering. Professor Oscar Bruno is Member of the National Academy of Sciences of Argentina (2020), Vannevar Bush National Security Science and Engineering Fellow (2016), SIAM Fellow (2013).



Professor Graeme Milton  

Graeme Milton is a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics at the University of Utah. Professor Milton is the recipient of SIAM Ralph E. Kleinman Prize (2003), an Inaugural SIAM Fellow (2009), and Eisenbud Professor at MSRI (2010), Rothschild Distinguished Visiting Fellow (2019). Professor Milton is a word-leading researcher on composite materials, statistical mechanics, electromagnetism, applied mathematics, condensed matter physics, inverse problems, cloaking theory, networks and realizability, minimization variational principles for wave equations and for problems with non self-adjoint operators, and related areas. He has published about 200 research papers and has delivered numerous lectures and talks around the world, including the prestigious Invited Lecture at International Congress of Mathematicians (1998), MSRI-Evans Lecture (University of California at Berkeley, 2020), Harold L. Gay Lecture (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2011), Distinguished Visitor Program (University of California at Irvine, 2012), Distinguished Lecture (Mathematics Department, University of California at Santa Barbara, 2019).



Professor John Schotland  

John Schotland is a Professor of Mathematics at Yale University. Prior to joining the Yale faculty, he was Professor of Mathematics and Physics at University of Michigan and founding director of the Michigan Center for Applied and Interdisciplinary Mathematics (MCAIM). Professor Schotland also held the Paris Sciences Chair at ESPCI from 2014-2019. Professor Schotland’s research lies in mathematical physics, especially on problems at the interface of optical and condensed matter physics. He also has long-term interest in inverse problems with applications to imaging. He has published over 200 research papers and has delivered numerous talks in many universities and a variety of conferences around the world.



 Hai Zhang

Hai Zhang is an Associate Professor of Mathematics at Hong Kong University of Science of Technlogy.

His research focuses on mathematical analysis in metamaterials and topological materials, inverse problems and imaging. He has published about 40 research papers and has delivered over 80 talks in many universities and a variety of conferences.