Auburn University has established three types of payrolls on which to pay employees. These payroll types have varying pay cycles and are paid at predetermined intervals throughout the year. The employee classification and position assignment determine on which pay type an employee will be paid.

The three payroll types are as follows:

Monthly Payroll

Administrative and Professional, "exempt" employees, graduate assistants and certain faculty members are paid monthly. Pay periods are calendar months and paydays are the last working day of the month. If the last day of the month falls on a bank holiday, then payday is the day before the bank holiday. If it falls on the weekend, payday will be the Friday before.

Biweekly Payroll

Pay periods run from Sunday through Saturday. Payday is Friday following the end of the second week of the pay period unless it falls on a bank holiday - then it is the day before. These employees are eligible for the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act and must complete biweekly time sheets or punch time cards to track all hours worked. The University requires that the employee and supervisor certify that the contents of the document are accurate and true.

Semi-Monthly Payroll

The majority of faculty at Auburn University, especially those involved primarily in the instructional program, are employed on a nine-month basis, i.e., for the fall and spring semesters of the academic year. Nine-month faculty are paid twice per month; on the fifteenth for pay period covering the first through the fifteenth, and the last working day of the month for the sixteenth through the last day of the month. If a normal payday should fall on a bank holiday, the last working day preceding the holiday will become payday. Likewise, if a normal payday falls on the weekend, payday is backed up to the Friday before. Nine-month faculty may be employed during the summer. Summer compensation is also paid on a semi-monthly basis.

All payroll documents should be retained in the department for three years following the end of the fiscal year.

Last updated: 02/17/2023