Each month, Auburn University recognizes as many as four employees with the Spirit of Excellence award. Employees are recognized from each of the following groups:

  • Service/Maintenance

  • Secretarial/Clerical

  • Technical

  • Administrative/Professional

Award Criteria

In order to be selected as a Spirit of Excellence Award winner, an employee must:

  • Be a regular Auburn University employee (excludes temporary employees, graduate and under graduate student employees, county agents and extension specialists, and tenure track and non-tenure track faculty) with the exception of research associates

  • Have at least one year continuous employment with Auburn University

  • Have a performance evaluation rating that meets or exceeds expectations at the time of nomination

Recipients must also meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Goes "beyond the call of duty” to improve service, quality, and the department’s or unit’s image

  • Exemplifies professionalism and dedication to excellent service by putting forth extra effort

  • Performs "outstanding contributions of significance"

  • Achieves specific or sustained accomplishments that exceed normal expectations

  • Initiates or brings a job to a successful conclusion

How to Nominate an Employee

Employees may be nominated for these awards by any regular Auburn University employee, including university faculty. Nominations are not limited to your immediate area of employment.

In order to nominate an employee, a nomination form must be completed and sent to the Spirit of Excellence Award Selection Committee, c/o University Human Resources: 1550 East Glenn Ave. Nominations must be received by the 15th of each month.

Please note that recipients will be selected from nominations submitted in the last 12 months. An employee who is not selected can be nominated again. 


Recent Recipients

October 2022

Recipient Department
Stacie Hunter NCAT
Justin Choron Property Management
Sydney Riley Engineering Admin
Shelby Callaway Veterinary Medicine


September 2022

Recipient Department
Daffny Pierce University Libraries
Jeff Dyal Facilities (Landscape Services)
Jessica Holmes CADC
Vickie Adams NCAT


August 2022

Recipient Department
Cheryl Rhodes College of Engineering
Larry "Tom" Moore Property Management
Kimberly Bledsoe Tax Compliance
George Adams Office of Information Technology


July 2022

Recipient Department
Mandi Buckalew Office of Accessibility
Steven Moore College of Engineering
Kelli Harris  Advancement
Mallory Brown Office of Information Technology


June 2022

Recipient Department
Lane Sullivan Human Resources
Rick Doiron Student Affairs (Property Management)
Paige Patterson College of Pharmacy
Jay James  Office of Information Technology


May 2022

Recipient Department
Karen Tidwell Human Sciences
Steven Barnes <span ">Student Affairs (Property Management)
Nan Chambliss Alabama Agriculture Experiment Station
Wiley Page Office of Information Technology


April 2022

Recipient Department
Michelle Pegues-Washington Entomology and Plant Pathology
Christol Gutherie Student Affairs (Campus Recreation) 
Amy Pope Office of Alumni Affairs
Chelsy Hooper University Libraries


March 2022

Recipient Department
Jenny Williams Campus Recreation
Tyler Lynn Property Management
Sherry Ray Graduate School
Damon Hebb Information Systems Support


February 2022

Recipient Department
Alicia Harkless College of Engineering
Paige Petrey Student Affairs
Vanessa Jerido Facilities Management
Kelly Steele Human Resources


January 2022

Recipient Department
Gina Bailey Auburn Research & Economic Development
Stephanie Parrish OIT


Employees of the Year

Each monthly winner of the Spirit of Excellence Award will be eligible to receive the Employee of the Year Award.

The winners will be announced and recognized at the annual Employee Recognition Award ceremony.  An employee selected as a Spirit of Excellence Award winner cannot be nominated again prior to the annual university-wide Employee Recognition Award ceremony in the spring.

Last updated: 10/31/2022