Strategic Budgeting, Governance


A key advantage of shared governance is the opportunity for increased interaction between the academic leadership and campus administrators, all of whom carry the responsibility for achieving results with the available resources.

The Strategic Budgeting Initiative’s Steering Committee developed five principles that continue to guide the Strategic Budgeting Initiative:

Auburn University deserves a budget model that will be able to:

  1. Prioritize funding of strategic initiatives aligned with Auburn’s mission;

  2. Deliver consistent, accurate, and realistic financial projections, while allowing flexibility to respond to future opportunities and unknowns;

  3. Promote authority, responsibility, and accountability, both locally and university-wide;

  4. Provide incentives for effective management of both revenues and expenses and reward creativity and innovation; and

  5. Be simple, transparent, and logical.

In the spirit of transparency and increased stakeholder participation, the University’s Budget Advisory Committee was restructured in Fall 2016 and two new University committees were introduced: Central Unit Allocations Committee and Space Management and Repair and Renovation Committee. The links below will take you to the committee’s official charge and membership composition.

Steering Committee (active 2013-2015)

The original Strategic Budgeting Steering Committee, convened in 2013, consisted of the following:

  • Provost and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, Co-Chair

  • Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, Co-Chair

  • Dean, College of Liberal Arts

  • Dean, College of Agriculture and Director, Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station

  • Dean, Raymond J. Harbert College of Business

  • Dean, Auburn University Libraries

  • Dean, College of Education

  • Professor, Department of Psychology

  • Associate Professor, Department of Finance

  • Special Assistant to the Provost for Budget Management

  • Director, Institutional Research and Assessment

  • Associate Vice-President for Business and Finance

Budget Advisory Committee (restructured, Fall 2016)

Central Unit Allocations Committee (new, Fall 2016)

Space Management and Repair and Renovations Committee (new, Fall 2016)

Last updated: May 12, 2021