COSAM News Articles 2022 February Hear from Livia Eberlin at the Schneller Frontiers Lecture on Feb. 3

Hear from Livia Eberlin at the Schneller Frontiers Lecture on Feb. 3

Published: 01/31/2022

On Feb. 3 at 3:45 p.m., you can listen to Livia Eberlin from the Baylor College of Medicine speak on the topic of Advancing Cancer Research and Treatment with Ambient Ionization Mass Spectrometry. The lecture will take place in SCC 115 and the host is Ahmed Hamid. 

Livia Schiavinato Eberlin received her B.S. in Chemistry from the State University of Campinas in 2008. In 2012, she received her Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from Purdue University under the supervision of Prof. R. Graham Cooks. She then pursued her postdoctoral research at Stanford University under the mentorship of Prof. Richard N. Zare. Prof. Eberlin started her independent career as an assistant professor at The University of Texas at Austin and is currently an Associate Professor at Baylor College of Medicine. 

Prof. Eberlin’s research program centers around the development and application of mass spectrometry technologies in health-related research, with a particular focus on disease detection and diagnosis to improve patient care and clinical outcomes.  Dr. Eberlin and her research team are the recipients of many honors and awards for their scientific research, including a NIH/NCI K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award, a Forbes 30 under 30 listing in the Healthcare category, a Moore Inventor Fellowship, and a MacArthur Fellowship in 2018. Prof. Eberlin is also passionate about mentorship, scientific education, and efforts related to diversity and inclusion within the scientific community. 

The Schneller Frontiers Lectureship was endowed by Professor and Mrs. Stewart Schneller in 2015. It is to be an annual event to recognize 21st century international pioneers in chemistry and biochemistry. Between 1994 and 2010, Professor Schneller had the privilege of serving as Dean of the College of Sciences and Mathematics and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Having stepped down as Dean, he currently continues teaching along with his ongoing research program. This lectureship is an opportunity for the Schnellers to acknowledge the professional and personal fulfillment these opportunities have provided them.

Previous lecturers:

  • Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan, 2016
  • Sarah Reisman, California Institute of Technology, 2016
  • Shannon Stahl, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2017
  • Theodor Agapie, California Institute of Technology, 2019
  • Wilfred van der Donk, University of Illinois, 2019
Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected