COSAM News Articles 2019 October 2019 COSAM Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient: Rosemary Kopel Brown

2019 COSAM Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient: Rosemary Kopel Brown

Published: 10/08/2019

By: Maria Gebhardt

“Rosemary has an infectious love of learning,” explained Auburn University’s First Lady Susie Gogue, during her introduction of Rosemary Kopel Brown, the 2019 recipient of the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM) Distinguished Alumni Award, at a dinner held in her honor on Friday, September 27.

Brown, who received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Auburn University in 1957, was recognized for the impact she made on thousands of students during her rewarding career as a mathematics educator. Brown shared her love of learning and of Auburn University across the country, including West Virginia, Texas, New Jersey, Georgia, and Michigan. According to Gogue, Brown has been “a great ambassador for Auburn University,” and recently served as Kennesaw State University’s Honors College Luncheon speaker.

She and her husband, John Brown ’57, have made significant contributions to their alma mater, including the establishment of the Rosemary Kopel Brown Endowed Eminent Scholars Chair in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics. The inaugural holder of the title, Dr. Hal Schenck, was among the guests in attendance at the award ceremony. The Browns also have given generously to initiatives throughout Auburn’s campus, and in 2015, made the largest gift in university history.

During her acceptance remarks, Brown recalled her teaching career and shared quotes from several of her former students, including words of wisdom from one, now a pediatrician in Chicago. “It is nice to be important, but it is more important to be nice.”  Brown concluded by thanking the university, COSAM, and those in attendance, as well as her former students, for their roles in keeping her love of learning flourishing.

COSAM Dean, Nicholas J. Giordano, presented Brown with an engraved, crystal award to commemorate the honor, which has been bestowed annually on alumni who have made significant contributions to their field and to the university.

Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected