COSAM News Articles 2019 April Dean’s Research Awards Highlight COSAM Research and Achievements

Dean’s Research Awards Highlight COSAM Research and Achievements

Published: 04/23/2019

By: Maria Gebhardt

“The Dean’s Research Awards program is an opportunity for us to celebrate the forefront research being conducted by faculty and students including work at the graduate and undergraduate levels,” said Dean Nicholas J. Giordano. “At this year’s program, I was proud to showcase research published in Science by faculty, graduate students that have spoken at national conferences and an undergraduate student whose research work has garnered an award from the American Chemical Society.”

This year’s Dean’s Research Awards program for the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM) took place on Tuesday, April 16, 2019, in the Sciences Center Classroom Building. Faculty being recognized included:

  • Steven O. Mansoorabadi, Chemistry and Biochemistry – Lecture presented:
  • David A. Maurer, Department of Physics - Young Faculty Scholar Awardee
  • Krystyna Kuperberg, Department of Mathematics and Statistics – Faculty Service/Outreach Award
  • Robert S. Boyd, Department of Biological Sciences – Faculty Service/Outreach Award

Three doctoral students were recognized with Graduate Student Awards:

  • Isuru R. Ariyarathna, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Hannah E. Correia, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Taylor Hall, Department of Physics

A master’s and an undergraduate student were recognized with student awards:

  • Collin Sutton, Department of Geosciences
  • Kevin Wyss, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

To learn more about these researchers, view the awards program online.

Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected