COSAM News Articles 2019 April Alpha Epsilon Delta Welcomes New Members

Alpha Epsilon Delta Welcomes New Members

Published: 04/16/2019

By: Maria Gebhardt

Welcome new members of AED.

On Monday, April 8, 2019, a new group of students were graciously initiated into Alpha Epsilon Delta (AED), a national honor society for students interested in future careers in medical and dental professions, osteopathic and optometric medicine, physical therapy and pharmacy. The society is affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

The ceremony held in the Science Center Auditorium in the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM) included students taking the official pledge and being greeted by the current officers of AED. Linda W. Goodson and Mallory Wilson were inducted as members of the society.

Current AED President Leah Byerly was recognized with a scholarship.  

“Being the president of Alpha Epsilon Delta (AED) has been the paramount role of my academic career here at Auburn University,” said Leah. “I joined AED in the fall of 2015 as a freshman. Since then I have attended two AED National Conventions, appointed as volunteer coordinator, elected as the treasurer, and finally elected as the president going into my senior year. Looking back over this past school year as the president of a large organization, I cannot express enough how much I have learned by being in this position. AED teaches its members how to become and how to have a successful career as a health care provider. With the immense help from our advisor, Mrs. Beverley Childress, I had to network with local healthcare providers, professional school admissions deans, and current professional school students to speak at our meetings.”

Leah was able to develop new skills through the opportunities AED presented.

“I learned how to take on a leadership role I have never done before. Being the AED president has allowed me to practice public speaking, oversee multiple sponsored volunteer events, guide an executive board of 15 members, and lead a large group of associate and national members. AED has taught me the crucial attributes a leader must attain in order to keep the organization successful. I am so thankful I was given the opportunity to lead this wonderful group of future health care providers,” Leah added.  

Afterwards, students and their parents enjoyed a reception.

AED includes important objectives for all of its members:

  • encourages and recognizes excellence in premedical scholarship
  • stimulates an appreciation of the importance of pre-health education in the study of medicine
  • promotes cooperation and contacts between pre-health students and educators in developing an adequate program of pre-health education
  • binds together students with similar interests
  • uses its resources for the benefit of health organizations, charities, and the community

Congratulations to the new members for 2019 - 2020:

  • William Brent Allee
  • Mary Kathryn Allman
  • Sarah Ann Blackstock
  • Kiley Caroline Brady
  • Kaylee Nicole Burlingame
  • Jamie Elisabeth Cronin
  • Callie J. Cross
  • Kelly Paige Dorsey
  • Savannah Olivia Elrod
  • Kaitlyn Leigh Estes
  • Kacie Lynn Florus
  • Savanah Faith Fowler
  • Jacob Alan Hagewood
  • Kahlea Ashton Haladwala
  • Hope Elizabeth Harris
  • Hudson Daniel Honeywell
  • Victoria Susan Jiminez
  • Wade Schmidt Jones
  • Loren Elizabeth Kimmel
  • Sarah Elaine Krakowski
  • Erin Leigh LaGrone
  • Abigla Parker Mashburn
  • Elizabeth Collier McCalman
  • Hannah Sims McCalman
  • Nicole Tate McCarthy
  • Kathryn Elizabeth McMillian
  • Siena Dahnke Munz
  • Tien-Huy Cong Nguyen
  • Nicole Panzica
  • Madison Michelle Patrick
  • Savannah Sally Petrus
  • Audrey Elaine Powell
  • Keeley Amber Pownall
  • Reid Harrison Reeves
  • Suzannah Ashley Rowell
  • John Martin Sisson
  • Tristen Caleb Strength
  • Lindsey Morgan Sullivan
  • Faith Ann Taylor
  • Sara Michelle Wood
  • Whitney Evans Word


Share this article
Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected