COSAM News Articles 2016 April COSAM recognizes top students at Honors Convocation

COSAM recognizes top students at Honors Convocation

Published: 04/28/2016

By: Lindsay Miles

COSAM recognized top students and faculty at the annual Honors Convocation, which took place on April 23 in the Auburn University Student Center Ballroom. Each year, the Honors Convocation is dedicated to a retired COSAM faculty member, and this year’s ceremony was held in honor of Roland Dute (pictured, right, with COSAM Dean Nicholas Giordano), retired professor in the Department of Biological Sciences. Dute retired in fall 2015 after serving 33 years as a faculty member at Auburn. During his career, he received numerous awards and honors, including Auburn University’s Gerald and Emily Leischuck Award for Teaching, an honor bestowed upon two university faculty members each year in recognition of demonstrated commitment to student success through effective and innovative teaching through advising and mentoring, both inside and outside the classroom. 

During the ceremony, students were recognized for outstanding achievement for the 2015-2016 academic year. Dean Giordano also congratulated several students, faculty and staff for exceptional performance including the following:

2016 COSAM Dean’s Medalists: Jessica Adams, Biological Sciences; Evan Kilburn, Biological Sciences; Caroline Hubbard, Biomedical Sciences; Elizabeth Morris, Biomedical Sciences; Claire Walker, Biomedical Sciences; Daniel Seay, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Kelly Kindgren, Geosciences; Benjamin Brewer, Mathematics and Statistics; and Brian Bender, Physics.

Outstanding COSAM Graduate Teaching Assistant: Dawit Denu, Mathematics and Statistics; Katherine Mincey, Biological Sciences; and Rebecca Riggs, Biological Sciences

Outstanding Faculty Advisor: Anne Gorden, Chemistry and Biochemistry                                        

Comer Award: Brian Westbrook, Biomedical Sciences; and Taylor Farmer, Chemistry and Biochemistry

President’s Award: Chloe Chaudhury, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Student Government Association Award: Sally Harrison, Biological Sciences

More stories that may interest you
Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected