COSAM » Departments » Chemistry & Biochemistry » Colloquia » Kosolapoff Award

Kosolapoff Award

The G. M. Kosolapoff Lecture series is sponsored by the Auburn section of the American Chemical Society and the Auburn University Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. The award is named after Gennady Michael Kosolapoff who came to Alabama Polytechnic Institute in 1948. (Alabama Polytechnic Institute was re-named Auburn University in 1960.) The award is presented to chemists and biochemists in recognition of outstanding scientific contributions. Among the list of 30 awardees are 12 Nobel Laureates and 28 National Academy Members, scientists who have made transformative impacts on the world through their research.

Recipients of the Kosolapoff Award
Research Page: Research Page; Nobel laureate: Nobel laureate; National Academy Member: NAS member

2017 --- MacMillan  Research Page NAS member
1986 --- William N. Lipscomb Nobel laureate NAS member
1987 --- Herbert C. Brown Nobel laureate NAS member
1988 --- Michael J. S. Dewar NAS member
1989 --- Donald J. Cram Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
1990 --- Henry Taube Nobel laureate NAS member
1991 --- Derek H. R. Barton Nobel laureate NAS member
1992 --- Allen J. Bard Research Page NAS member
1993 --- Richard E. Smalley Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
1994 --- Dudley R. Herschbach Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
1995 --- William von Eggers Doering NAS member
1996 --- Rudolph A. Marcus Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
1997 --- Mario J. Molina Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
1998 --- Richard N. Zare Research Page NAS member
1999 --- Jacqueline K. Barton Research Page NAS member
2000 --- Josef Michl Research Page NAS member
2001 --- Harry B. Gray Research Page NAS member
2002 --- Ahmed H. Zewail Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
2003 --- John D. Roberts Research Page NAS member
2004 --- Kenneth N. Raymond Research Page NAS member
2005 --- Ronald Breslow Research Page NAS member
2006 --- Kyriacos C. Nicolaou Research Page NAS member
2007 --- Robert H. Grubbs Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
2008 --- Barry M. Trost Research Page NAS member
2009 --- Koji Nakanishi Research Page 
2010 --- Robert H. Crabtree Research Page 
2011 --- Eric N. Jacobsen Research Page NAS member
2012 --- Thomas J. Meyer Research Page NAS member
2013 --- Ei-ichi Negishi Research Page Nobel laureate NAS member
2014 --- Daniel G. Nocera Research Page NAS member
2015 --- Edward I. Solomon  Research Page NAS member
2016 --- John E. Bercaw  Research Page NAS member
2017 --- David W. C. MacMillan  Research Page

Last Updated: 05/22/2017