HSOP Initiates 38 Into Rho Chi Society

large group of students Auburn Initiates
small group of students Mobile Initiates

September 18, 2019

AUBURN, Alabama – Thirty-eight students were inducted into the Zeta Chapter of the Rho Chi Pharmacy Honor Society on Thursday, September 12. The initiation ceremony was held in simultaneous ceremonies on the Auburn and Mobile campuses of the Harrison School of Pharmacy.

RELATED: Photo Gallery

Dr. Brad Wright, associate clinical professor in the Harrison School of Pharmacy’s Department of Pharmacy Practice and Director of the Professional Program, served as the keynote speaker. A member of Rho Chi, he graduated from HSOP in 2004 and in 2019 was recognized as the chapter’s distinguished alumnus.

The initiation was administered by Dr. Paul Jungnickel, the chapter faculty advisor and associate dean for academic programs at HSOP, and current chapter president Rachel Chappell. Dr. Nicole Slater administered the ceremony on the Mobile campus.

Of the 38 initiated, 32 are Pharm.D. students while five are graduate students. One faculty member was also initiated. Those initiated were:

  • Kaitlyn Abbott
  • Carolyne Baker
  • Hannah Elizabeth Black
  • Sarah Vest Cogle
  • Laura Ashley Comalander
  • Katherine Davis
  • Allison Durant
  • Allison May Field
  • Alexa Reanne Filley
  • Joseph Clayton Frangipane
  • Manoj Govindarajulu
  • Kelsey Laine Hall
  • Shelby Means Harris
  • Tinia Harris
  • Anna Rachel Hatcher
  • John Holt
  • Anna Watkins Huskey
  • Ibtisam Ibtisam
  • Logan Jones
  • Hayden Lee
  • Taylor Mathwich
  • Chanley Lynn Moye
  • Logan T. Neel
  • Chance Garnett Partlow
  • Madissen Patterson
  • Priyanka Das Pinky
  • Alec Ryne Raley
  • Jamie Rasinen
  • Ashley Robertson
  • Helen Taylor Roe
  • Cailyn Levant Sandoval
  • Madeline Sheffield
  • Nathaniel Silar
  • Victoria Noel Simmons
  • Rachel Spencer
  • Jackson Harvey Spradlin
  • Landon Forrest Stewart
  • Andy Woods

Founded in 1922, Rho Chi is an international honor society for pharmaceutical sciences that seeks to advance pharmacy through intellectual leadership. To be invited to join, students must rank in the top 20 percent of their class, have a minimum GPA of 3.0, have not been disciplined for violations of academic integrity or professional standards, and must be elected by a vote of the current chapter members. Auburn’s Zeta Chapter was established in 1925 as the sixth Rho Chi chapter in the country.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The School’s commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn’s overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: September 18, 2019