Ravis, Evans and Main Win APAA Annual Awards

 Dr. William Ravis, Bobby Giles, Dean R. Lee Evans, Darrell Craven, Justice Jim Main and Charlie Thomas. The 2016 APAA Award Winners (from left): Dr. William Ravis with APAA President Bobby Giles; Dean R. Lee Evans with APAA board member Darrell Craven; and Justice Jim Main with APAA board member Charlie Thomas.

July 20, 2016

AUBURN UNIVERSITY, Ala. – The Auburn Pharmacy Alumni Association Board of Directors announced the group’s annual awards at the 2016 Alabama Pharmacy Association Convention. Retiring professor Dr. William Ravis and Dean R. Lee Evans, who also recently announced his retirement, were honored with the Distinguished Service Award. Jim Main, a justice on the Alabama Supreme Court, won the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Ravis, a long-time faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy’s Department of Drug Discovery and Development, recently retired after nearly 30 years with the school. He received a B.S. in Pharmacy from Temple University and a Ph.D. from the University of Houston in the area of Biopharmaceutics/Biophysics.

In 1977, he joined the HSOP faculty, eventually serving ad department head in what was then known as the Department of Pharmacal Sciences from 1990-2007. He has authored more than 130 research publications and book chapters covering areas of human and veterinary pharmacokinetics, bioequivalency, novel drug delivery, drug interactions, stereo-selectivity, drug metabolism, plasma protein binding, and modeling.

Ravis is a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology. William serves and has served on numerous editorial boards and is a reviewer for more than 15 research journals.

Evans has been Dean at HSOP since 1994 and recently announced his upcoming retirement. He will stay on as Dean until a replacement has been hired. Prior to coming to HSOP, he held the post of Chairman of the Division of Pharmacy Practice, and Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Psychiatry at the University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) from 1987 to 1994. He also held the post of Director of Psychopharmacy Education and Research at Western Missouri Mental Health Center, which operated one of seven postgraduate psychopharmacy residency and fellowship training programs in the United States. 

Since joining Auburn University, Evans has led the conversion of the school’s professional education program to the Doctor of Pharmacy degree; shifted the pedagogy to student-centered learning, which was designed to create life-long learners who can work collaboratively in teams; instituted a longitudinal patient care responsibility for students that starts in the first professional year and extends throughout the curriculum; increased the numbers of faculty, students and staff and corresponding budget; facilitated the intense use of technology in the curriculum; and gained approval and funding for new HSOP facilities.

Main, a 1968 HSOP graduate, currently serves as a justice on the Supreme Court of Alabama. Previously, he served as a judge on the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals and also served as Director of Finance for the State of Alabama, a position that is the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of the state, as well as policy advisor to the Governor. 

Prior to becoming Finance Director in 2004, Main served as senior counsel to Gov. Bob Riley and Chief of Staff and legal advisor to Gov. Fob James. Other public service roles include terms as Anniston City Attorney, Lineville City Judge and City Attorney for Oxford, Alabama.  

Main is a member of a number of professional organizations, including the Alabama Bar Association where he is a founding Fellow of the Alabama Law Foundation. He is also past-President of the American Pharmacists Association, past-President of the Alabama Pharmacy Association, and past-Chairman of the HSOP Dean's Advisory Council.  He has received numerous awards, including the Parke Davis Leadership Award; the Bowl of Hygeia, the most widely recognized international symbol for the profession of pharmacy today; the Distinguished Alumnus Award from HSOP (1984); the President's Award from the American Society of Pharmacy and Law; and member of Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame Class of 2012.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy
Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: April 21, 2017