HSOP Awards 163 Degrees at 2017 Commencement

May 10, 2017

Graduation Central

AUBURN, Ala. – Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy awarded 153 professional doctor of pharmacy degrees during the school’s commencement on Tuesday, May 9.

In addition, three Masters of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences degrees were conferred and seven candidates were awarded the Doctor of Philosophy in Pharmaceutical Sciences.

RELATED: Graduation Central | Photo Gallery
MORE: Jonathan Gray Named 2017 Graduation Marshal

The 163-member class included 107 students from Alabama. The remaining students represented five foreign countries (China, India, Saudi Arabia, Southern Africa and Ukraine) and 15 states, including Alaska, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

The commencement address was given by Dr. Terry McInnis, President and Founder of Blue Thorn Inc. Dr. McInnis spoke on transformative healthcare and the integration of clinical pharmacy into ambulatory care.

The student address was given by Ebony Craig Jackson, a native of Thomaston, Alabama. Jackson served as president of the HSOP Student Council and has accepted a PGY-1 residency with Cambridge Health Alliance in Boston, Massachusetts. The program focuses on providing a variety of clinical pharmacy services to the diverse population in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Selected as the student graduation marshal was Jonathan Gray, a native of Gardendale, Alabama. Gray has accepted a PGY-1 residency at Princeton Baptist Medical Center in Birmingham, Alabama.

Candidates were presented by Dr. George Flowers, dean of the Auburn University Graduate School, and Dr. Lee Evans, dean of the Harrison School of Pharmacy. Hooding was done by Dr. Paul Jungnickel, associate dean of the Harrison School of Pharmacy.

The Oath of a Pharmacist was administered by George Ronald Parker (’82), a Vice President with McKesson. He is the father of Class of 2017 member Marian Parker Claybaugh.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy
Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: May 10, 2017