Gilmore Earns Women of Distinction Honor

Lauren Gilmore Lauren Gilmore, a P3 from Madison, Alabama, earned the Women of Distinction Award.

March 10, 2016

By Samantha Taylor

AUBURN UNIVERSITY, Ala. – Lauren Gilmore, a third-year student at the Harrison School of Pharmacy, is not just a top student, but has also taken the initiative to get involved with several of the 13 student organizations HSOP has to offer. For her service and leadership, Gilmore has been selected to receive the 2016 Women of Distinction Graduate Student Leadership Award.

Awarded by the Auburn University Women’s Center, Gilmore will be recognized at the Women’s Leadership Conference Awards Luncheon on Friday, March 25 at the Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center.

RELATED: Learn more about the Women's Leadership Conference

Gilmore, a native of Madison, Alabama, serves on the board of directors for Equal Access Auburn (EAA), is on the national student leadership council for the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA), and is also the president of HSOP’s Phi Lambda Sigma chapter.

Her involvement in Equal Access Auburn roots back to her time as a first-year student. The organization has grown from an idea to a recognized organization under SGA. EAA is an organization that mirrors that of Equal Access Birmingham where pharmacy students serve the underserved population by providing free services such as glucose screenings, flu shots, and blood pressure screenings. Gilmore was active in writing the by-laws and constitution for the organization and hopes the clinic is able to open up in the upcoming years.

Gilmore was nominated by fellow student, and fiancé, David Carroll for her hard work.

“I’m very honored that I was chosen for the award and it really means a lot to have all the hard work I’ve put in over the years recognized,” said Gilmore.

The Women’s Leadership Conference (WLC) is an annual campus event, hosted by the Women’s Center, that includes workshops, speakers, and discussion panels intended to educate conference attendees on leadership competences while providing networking opportunities with other women leaders. The Conference seeks to honor female leaders every year who awaken the passion for success of those around her.

The Women of Distinction Awards honor outstanding female leaders in the Auburn community, including a graduate or professional student. The award honors a student who demonstrates exemplary leadership abilities, leads with heart, creating innovative solutions, while inspiring and uplifting the entire Auburn University Community. The Women’s Leadership Conference seeks to honor a female leader who awakens the passion for success of those around her. She encompasses the ideals of a successful leader, radiating a demeanor that compels others to do the same. Gilmore is the second member of the HSOP Family to receive one of the awards as Dr. Kimberly Braxton-Lloyd received the faculty Women of Distinction Award in 2009.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy
Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. In 2014, the school adopted the slogan, “Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care.” For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit

Last Updated: March 28, 2017