HSOP Shines at NCPA Annual Meeting

NCPA Meeting

Oct. 23, 2014

NCPA Meeting Photo Gallery

AUBURN UNIVERSITY, Ala. – Auburn and the Harrison School of Pharmacy were well-represented last week at the National Community Pharmacists Association Annual Convention in Austin, Texas, picking up several group and individual awards.

“The NCPA Annual Convention and Trade Show provided students opportunities not attainable in the confines of the classroom,” said Tyler Dalton, Auburn’s NCPA Chapter President. “Whether you are seeking continuing education, seminars, or networking experience, you are sure to experience all of the above at the convention. The convention prides itself by providing speakers and workshops to develop cutting edge practice sites.”

The convention’s motto was “Meet, Learn, Succeed,” a theme the 27 Auburn students and faculty advisor took to heart. The chapter won the NCPA’s Community Health and Wellness Challenge while also earning the honor as first runner-up in the NCPA Chapter of the Year competition.

For the Community Health and Wellness Challenge, HSOP’s chapter held a semester-long event called "Wellness Wednesday." The event was a city wide couch-to-5K program that consisted of a 10-week training series followed by a 5k race hosted by HSOP. Each Week a different organization would speak for five minutes and they were encouraged to speak on health or pharmacy related issues. Overall, the program had 135 participants.

For Chapter of the Year, the HSOP chapter finished behind overall winner Ohio Northern University. The second runner-up, finishing just behind Auburn was the University of Texas-Austin chapter. The award is based on activities during the preceding school year. Criteria include: The number of community service projects, the number of guest speakers at NCPA meetings, fundraising, attendance at national NCPA meetings and most importantly, promoting pharmacy ownership. For finishing as first runner-up, the Auburn chapter received a $1,000 award.

“This award is a testament to the involvement and dedication of our chapter,” said Dalton. “In a three-year span, we have grown from 50 members to just short of 200 members, positioning us as the largest NCPA chapter in the nation. Our chapter is active in year-round community events from serving locals at a homeless food shelter, drug take back initiatives and health fairs.”

Individually, several Auburn students were recognized for their work. Erin McCreary, Gavin McNatt, Adam Patterson, Matt Savoie and Namita Vashi earned Presidential Scholarships. Savoie was also recognized as one of NCPA’s National Student Chapter Outstanding Members of the Year. Just 21 members nationwide were given this honor.

In addition to the chapter's accomplishments, several students presented a poster on the chapter business plan "Development of a Home Infusion Service in an Existing Pharmacy in Eastern Alabama." Participants include: Sara Ransom, Ross Woods, Christina Laird, Erin McCreary, and Tyler Dalton.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy
Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Last Updated: March 27, 2017