Harrison School of Pharmacy

Faculty and Staff Directory


Lee Evans Lee Evans

Department: Pharmacy Practice
Auburn University
Harrison School of Pharmacy
367 Pharmaceutical Research Building
Auburn, AL 36849
Email: evansrl@auburn.edu
Phone: 334-844-8350
Fax: 334-844-8353

Curriculum Vitae

B.S., Pharmacy - Georgia, 1971
Pharm.D - Tennessee, 1973
ASHP Accredited Residency – Medical University of South Carolina, 1972
Board Certified Psychiatric Pharmacist – 1976
Certified Leadership Coach – 2017

Roswell Lee Evans, Pharm.D., FASHP, BCPP is a Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice.

Amongst his interests are: leadership coaching for academic administrators; further development of interprofessional education; developing initiatives with foreign schools of pharmacy, particularly in Cuba; and scope of practice legislation for pharmacists.

Dr. Evans previously served as Dean of the Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy, from 1994-2017. Lee is a visionary leader for the School and the profession.  Under his tenure as dean the School developed the entry-level Pharm.D. program at Auburn, and subsequently two curricular revisions to keep HSOP at the forefront of pharmacy education.  The school shifted the pedagogy to student centered learning which was designed to create life-long learners who can work collaboratively in teams; instituted a longitudinal patient care responsibility for students that starts in the first professional year and extends throughout the curriculum; increased the numbers of faculty, students and staff and corresponding budget; and facilitated the intense use of technology in the curriculum.

HSOP flourished under his leadership, routinely ranking among the top 20 percent of pharmacy schools in the country. Dr. Evans was also instrumental in physically growing the school, spearheading two major construction projects: the addition of the Education and Clinical Wing in 2006 and the Pharmaceutical Research Building in 2017. In that time, he was also instrumental in raising more than $26 million in gifts and commitments to HSOP.

Before coming to Auburn, he held the post of Chairman, Division of Pharmacy Practice, and Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Psychiatry, University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) from 1987 to 1994. He also held the post of Director, Psychopharmacy Education and Research, Western Missouri Mental Health Center, which operated one of seven postgraduate psychopharmacy residency and fellowship training programs in the United States. Dr. Evans also held an appointment in the UMKC School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry.

Dr. Evans is a Georgia native who completed his B.S. in Pharmacy at the University of Georgia in 1971. His training followed with a residency in hospital pharmacy at the Medical University of South Carolina and a Pharm.D. degree from the University of Tennessee in Memphis Health Science Center in 1973.

In 1973, he joined the faculty of the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center, College of Pharmacy in Memphis where he pursued his interest in psychiatric pharmacy.  In 1975 he joined the faculty at UMKC to become Project Coordinator for Development of the Clinical Practice Models in Community Pharmacies.  Subsequently, he became Section Head of Ambulatory Care Instruction and initiated the psychiatric pharmacy education and research program located at Western Missouri Mental Health Center.  His clinical practice, teaching, and research focus was on the appropriate pharmacotherapy of psychiatric patients.

Dr. Evans is a Board Certified Psychiatric Pharmacist and has worked with psychiatric patients for more than 20 years. Dr. Evans has also served as a Special Pharmacist Medicare Surveyor evaluating psychiatric facilities.

Dr. Evans, an active member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) since 1973, has served both as Chairman and Secretary of the Council of Faculties (COF) and Chairman of the Council of Deans. Examples of service include: Chairman, Standing Rules Committee of the COF; Chair, Workshop on Outcomes Assessment in Pharmaceutical Education; Chair, Planning AACP/NIH/ACCP Conference for Clinical Researchers in the Pharmaceutical Sciences; Chair, "Orientation of New and Aspiring Faculty" Committee, COF; Member, Planning Commission and the Task Force on Faculty Models, STPP; Faculty, AACP-Lilly Invitational Conference on Communications Skills Competency; Member, Joint NABP-AACP Committee to Develop, "The Internship Experience: A Manual for Pharmacy Preceptors and Interns," and Nominations Committee, STPP. He has presented at annual meetings and has served as a faculty delegate and reviewer for meeting papers and AJPE. He has served as a member of American Council of Pharmaceutical Education accreditation teams.

Currently, he is an active member of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, American Pharmaceutical Association, American College of Clinical Pharmacists, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists, Alabama Society of Health System Pharmacists, and Alabama Pharmacist Association.

Dr. Evans has published extensively in pharmacy and medical literature with over forty journal articles and book chapters. He has received the following recognition for his work:  Alabama Legislature Commendation for Outstanding Achievement; College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists Saklad Memorial Lecture Award; Fellow of American Society of Hospital Pharmacists; Fellow of American College of Clinical Pharmacists; Board Certification Psychiatric Pharmacists; Thomas Garrison Award for Outstanding Contribution to Hospital Pharmacy; Recipient of Missouri Society of Hospital Pharmacists Research and Education Foundation Upjohn Poster Award; Recipient of Mead Johnson's Visiting Faculty Program, 1987-89. UMKC Faculty Fellow Award in 1986 for his research efforts

Last Updated: September 17, 2017