Auburn University
Auburn University
HAFS Home About HAFS History Who is Harold A. Franklin? Contact
Auburn University

Honorary Inductees

Dr. Joseph E. Lowery

January 15th, 2010

Dr. Joseph E. Lowery is a champion of civil rights, and has been active in the movement since he headed the Alabama Civic Affairs Association in the early 1950ís. His participation in this organization led the movement to desegregate public accommodations and buses. In 1957, he co-founded, along with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC).

He had the high honor of giving the benediction at the inauguration of President Barack Obama, on January 20th, 2009. On August 12th of the same year he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom Ė the nationís highest civilian honor, for his very many contributions.

We are proud to welcome Dr. Joseph E. Lowery to The Brotherhood!

Dr. Harold A. Franklin

March 5th, 2009

(full bio)

Dr. Harold A. Franklin has built a strong legacy by paving the way for minorities to attend Auburn University. He is the namesake of our organization, and inspired the development of this organization in recognition of his achievements and all underrepresented students who have exemplified leadership, academic excellence, and have made significant contributions to the advancement of Auburn University.

We are proud to welcome Dr. Franklin as the first honorary inductee and permanent member of the Harold A. Franklin Society.