Bangladesh, officially the People's Republic of Bangladesh, is located in South Asia. It is surrounded by India on all sides except for a small border with Myanmar to the far southeast and the Bay of Bengal to the south.  The country has a long cultural and political history. Europeans began to set up trading posts in the area of Bangladesh in the 16th century; eventually the British came to dominate the region and it became part of British India. In 1947, West Pakistan and East Bengal separated from the Indian-subcontinent and jointly became the new country of Pakistan. East Pakistan seceded from its union with West Pakistan in 1971 and was renamed "Bangladesh".

Basic Information on Bangladesh

Geographic Location:
20 34’ to 26 38’ Latitude
88 01’ to 92 41’ Longitude

Principal Crops:

Jute, Rice, Wheat, Potato, Tea, Tobacco, Sugarcane

Area: 147,570 Square km.

National Days:

26 March – Independence Day

16 December – Victory Day

21 February – International Mother Language Day

Administrative Division: 6 National Flower: Water Lily (Shapla)
Population: About 140 million National Fruit: Jackfruit (Kanthal)
Language: Bengali (mother) English (second) National Bird: Magpie-Robin (Doyel)
Climate: Sub-tropical Monsoon National Fish: Hilsa (Illish)
Time: GMT+ 6.00 hours National Animal: Royal Bengal Tiger
Government: Parliamentary form of
Government (Democratic)
National Game: "Kabaddi"