Radiological Safety Committee -
Executive Vice President

The committee is delegated authority for radiological safety and magnetic safety concerns at the University. Committee responsibilities include establishment of policies and procedures, compliance with appropriate state and federal regulations, review of all applications and licenses for the use of ionizing and non-ionizing radiation at Auburn University, and assurance that each person working with radioactive materials and radiation-producing devices is qualified by training and experience to safely perform such work. (12 members)

Faculty Six faculty members
Ex Officio

Radiological Safety Officer

Associate Director of Risk Management and Safety

Assistant Vice President for Facilities or designee

Physics Department Head or designee

Director of the MRI Research Facility or designee

Representative of the largest radiation sources on campus

Restrictions Three of the faculty should have knowledge of the safe use of ionizing radiation, including at least one faculty member with knowledge of laser safety and operation, one with knowledge of the use of radiation in experimental biological systems, and one versed in magnetic safety issues.

The chair of the committee shall be a faculty member who has already completed one year of service on the committee.

The Radiological Safety Officer serves as committee secretary.


This page is maintained by the President's Office.

Last Updated:July 5, 2019

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4866 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©