Spirit of Excellence

Each month, Auburn University recognizes as many as four employees with the Spirit of Excellence award.  Employees are recognized from each of the following groups:
  • Service/Maintenance
  • Secretarial/Clerical
  • Technical
  • Administrative/Professional

Award Criteria

In order to be selected as a Spirit of Excellence Award winner, an employee must:

  • Be a regular Auburn University employee (excludes temporary employees, graduate and under graduate student employees, county agents and extension specialists, and tenure track and non-tenure track faculty) with the exception of Research Associates;
  • Have at least one year continuous employment with Auburn University; and,
  • Have a performance evaluation rating that meets or exceeds expectations at the time of nomination.

Recipients must also meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Goes "beyond the call of duty” to improve service, quality, and the department’s or unit’s image;
  • Exemplifies professionalism and dedication to excellent service by putting forth extra effort;
  • Performs "outstanding contributions of significance",
  • Achieves specific or sustained accomplishments that exceed normal expectations; or
  • Initiates or brings a job to a successful conclusion.

How to Nominate an Employee

Employees may be nominated for these awards by any regular Auburn University employee, including university faculty. Nominations are not limited to your immediate area of employment.

In order to nominate an employee, a nomination form must be completed and sent to the Spirit of Excellence Award Selection Committee, c/o University Human Resources: 1550 East Glenn Ave. Nominations must be received by the 15th of each month.

Nominations will remain in effect for a period of one year from the date submitted. 

Recent Recipients

January 2020
Gina Mann Facilities
Herman McDaniel Agriculture Experiment Station
Paul Esposito Veterans Resource Center
June Shin Alabama Cooperative Extension System


December 2019
Debbie Tidwell Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
Allie Dyleski College of Business
Brian Phillip College of Education


November 2019
Stacie Hunter National Center for Asphalt Technology
Shade Aladebumoye AU Libraries
Jun Zhu Office of Information Technology

Employees of the Year

Each monthly winner of the Spirit of Excellence Award will be eligible to receive the Employee of the Year Award.

The winners will be announced and recognized at the annual Employee Recognition Award ceremony.  An employee selected as a Spirit of Excellence Award winner cannot be nominated again prior to the annual university-wide Employee Recognition Award ceremony in the spring.

Last updated: 08/12/2020