Bios for Rules Committee Nominees for 2-year appointment beginning August 2021

Nominees are: Jamie Harrison (Curriculum and Teaching ) Jennifer Lockhart (Philosophy) Ken Macklin (Poultry Science). Please read their bios below. These Rules Committee nominees will be voted on at the March 16, 2021 Senate Meeting.

Jamie Harrison (Curriculum and Teaching)
Jamie Harrison is an Associate Professor of English as a Second Language Education in the Department of Curriculum and Teaching in the College of Education. She has been at Auburn since 2013. Dr. Harrison came to Auburn University with over fifteen years of teaching experience at public schools and private institutions in the United States and abroad. She received her Ed.D. in School Improvement from the University of West Georgia in 2010 and holds an M.S. in Applied Linguistics from the University of Surrey, Guildford, England; and a B.A. in English and Secondary Education from Eastern Nazarene College, Quincy, MA.

Dr. Harrison’s research program is focuses on teacher beliefs and attitudes, experiences of international students in higher education, and ESL teacher advocacy. She enjoys collaborating across campus and with colleagues at other institutions. She is currently collaborating with colleagues in School Counseling Education, and with colleagues at Clark Atlanta University and University of Alabama at Birmingham. She has published eight volumes in a textbook series, four book chapters, and fourteen journal articles. At Auburn, in addition to serving as Senate representative for Curriculum and Teaching, Dr. Harrison has participated on the Core Curriculum in General Education and Retention Committees.

Jennifer Lockhart (Philosophy)
Jennifer Lockhart is an Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy at Auburn University. She holds a PhD in philosophy from the University of Chicago and a BA in philosophy from the University of Georgia. She spent a year as Mellon Fellow in the Humanities at Stanford University before arriving at Auburn in 2012 when she became a full-blooded Tiger (except for that odd game when she still bleeds red and black). Dr. Lockhart’s research program approaches contemporary ethical issues from a historically informed perspective, drawing on philosophical figures such as Aristotle, Kant, and Kierkegaard to address questions such as the role of luck in ethics, hobbies and moral concerns, and sexual ethics. She currently serves as the Senator for the Philosophy Department.

Ken Macklin (Poultry Science)
Ken Macklin is a Professor and Extension Specialist in the Department of Poultry Science in the College of Agriculture. He has been on the faculty at Auburn University since 2005. Dr. Macklin received his BS and MS in Biology from Northern Illinois University and his PhD from Auburn University.
Ken’s research is broadly in the area of poultry health with an emphasis on bacterial enterica pathogens and on farm food safety. He has published over 50 peer reviewed journal articles, contributed to or edited 7 books and has over 150 outreach/extension publications.
At Auburn, Ken is serving as the senator for the Department of Poultry Science and on the Institutional Animal Use and Care Committee; in addition, he has served as the Chair of the Parking Appeals Committee, and has served on the Grievance, Patent and Selection Committees. He knows that to get more participation in University Committees more information about the responsibilities of the various committees need to be made available to faculty and staff.