Rules Committee Nominees for 2020

Nominees are: J. Brian Anderson (Civil Engineering ) George Stachokas (Libraries) Valentina Hartarska (Ag. Econ and Rural Sociology) Please read their bios below.
These Rules Committee nominees will be voted on at the March 17, 2020 Senate Meeting.

J. Brian Anderson (Civil Engineering )
Dr. Brian Anderson, P.E. is an Associate Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering at Auburn University. He holds Ph.D. and Master of Engineering degrees in Civil Engineering from the University of Florida and a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from North Carolina State University. Dr. Anderson has been on the faculty at Auburn since 2010, after serving seven and one half years’ service at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Dr. Anderson conducts research within the broad themes of foundation engineering, earth retention, soil properties, highway subgrade stabilization, scour geotechnics, sustainable foundation materials, solid waste management, and public policy. His research has generated over $4 million dollars of external funding. Dr. Anderson has published over 40 peer reviewed journal and conference publications, edited three books, and numerous engineering reports.

Dr. Anderson has been a senator for the Department of Civil Engineering over the past two academic years. He believes in the value of shared governance and would like to see the senate engage more to tackle issues that affect faculty and staff – particularly policies that create barriers to effective teaching and scholarship.

George Stachokas (Libraries)
George Stachokas is the Collections Strategist and Acquisitions Librarian in Auburn University Libraries having previously served as the Electronic Resources Librarian from 2015 through September 2019. Prior to coming to Auburn, he served as the Special Assistant to the Dean for Project Management and Head of Resource Services at Purdue University and Electronic Resources Librarian at Indiana State University. He is the author of two books in library and information science, editor of a volume about electronic resources management, and his articles can be found in Collection Management, Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship, Serials Review, Serials Librarian, and Technical Services Quarterly. He represents the Libraries in the Auburn University Senate, Faculty Research Committee, Academic Computing Committee, and Competitive Research Grants Committee.

Valentina Hartarska (Ag. Econ and Rural Sociology)
Valentina Hartarska is a Professor in the Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology in the College of Agriculture with a courtesy joint appointment in the Department of Finance, Raymond J. Harbert College of Business. She has been at Auburn since 2002. In 2014, she was awarded the Alumni Professor title for the period 2014-2019 and elected a Global Teaching Academy Fellow at Auburn in 2014. Dr. Hartarska received her Doctoral Degree from The Ohio State University, and holds MS in Economics from UK/Hungary, BS in Finance from Bulgaria, and a professional certificate in Management from Austria.

Dr. Hartarska’s research program focuses on governance and efficiency of financial institutions, financial literacy, and economic development. She has published over 50 journal articles and 10 books and book chapters and is placed in the top 10 percent most cited authors in the Social Science Research Network. Dr. Hartarska teaches agribusiness finance, economic development, and econometrics at graduate and undergraduate levels.

At Auburn, Dr. Hartarska served on numerous University and Senate Committees and was the Chair of the University Multicultural Diversity Commission and the Chair of the Faculty Salary and Welfare Committee. Most recently, she served as a co-Chair of Auburn University Strategic Internationalization Committee. She has consulted for the World Bank and the Farm Credit System and was invited to present her work at the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Federal Reserve System, and the World Bank.