Bios for Candidates for Chair-Elect

Anthony Moss and Michael Baginski

Anthony Moss is an Associate Professor of Biology. He has been a faculty member since 1992. He holds a Ph.D. from Boston University Marine Program/Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA and is currently coordinator of the AU Marine Biology Program, centered in the Department of Biological Sciences. He has published ~45+ peer-reviewed papers, a chapter for an innovative online textbook (Principles of Biology with Nature Publishing Group), is producing two book chapters on cell motility and is working on several manuscripts from the current and recent laboratory students while pursuing research on marine cellular physiology in several projects, all on ancient and simple marine animals. He has served as outside reviewer for multiple journals and has reviewed grants for the NSF, Sea Grant and the NSF GRF Program, The Eppley Foundation and other private foundations. He has served as reviewer for multiple textbooks and was on the advisory board for McGraw-Hill for five years. He graduated two graduate students this year, currently has two graduate students and 9 undergrads in his lab, has advised over 50 graduate students on committees or as major professor, and has trained well over 100 undergraduate students directly in his lab in marine cellular physiology. He currently serves on the Biological Sciences Curriculum Committee, and previously served on the Howard Hughes Future Life Sciences Scholar Seminar committee. He served on the Biochemistry and Molecular Interdisciplinary Graduate Science Minor Steering Committee, and LSAMP/AGEP Judge. He served in the local chapter of Sigma Xi as treasurer for approximately 5 years and President of the Chapter for five years. He has served on the Academic Honesty Committee for at least three cycles (two-year appointments). With Prof. L. Lamke of Human Sciences, he co-founded the Undergraduate Research Forum, predecessor to the undergraduae ‘This is Research’. He has been chair of the COSAM Graduate Travel Committee for approximately 10 years. He has chaired the CMB–COSAM Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship Program since 2001. He served as DBS Senator for 6 years, and has served on Senate Rules Committee. He served on the Faculty Welfare Committee in the late 1990s and on multiple ad hoc and departmental committees since then. Recently, he joined the Interdisciplinary studies (IDSC) program committee (Fall 2016) for the University College.


Michael Baginski joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Auburn University in the fall of 1985. During his time at Auburn, he has been a Senator for his department, served on the University Steering Committee, and was a member and two-term chair of the Administrator Evaluation Committee. He has also been a member of a number University and College committees including the Faculty Grievance Committee, the Traffic Appeals Committee, the Admission Appeals Committee, the University Library Committee, and has served on several Ad Hoc Committees. He is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and has published over 60 journal and 50 conference papers as well as 2 book chapters. Dr. Baginski has been awarded 5 Summer Faculty Fellowships from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and has done extensive consulting and contracting work for NASA, the Defense Intelligence Agency, the United States Army, Navy, and Air Force. His research associations have led to several of his doctoral students receiving scholarships or fellowships to do additional investigations on the results of his research.


Bios for Candidates for Secretary-Elect

Michael Tillson and Dr. Beverly Bain Marshall

Michael Tillson holds the title of The Arthur & Louise Oriole Professor in the College of Veterinary Medicine where he is a professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences. 

He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Zoology (1983) and Animal Sciences (1984) from North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC.  He received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from NCSU in 1988.  He earned a Master of Science from KSU and completed all the requirements to sit the certifying boards to become a Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS), which was awarded in 1996. 

After a year as a clinical faculty member at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Washington State University (Pullman, WA), he accepted a position as an assistant professor in the (then) Department of Small Animal Surgery & Medicine at Auburn (1995).  Since then, he has continued through the ranks to associate professor, professor and in 2010 was awarded his current chair.  Dr. Tillson is a member of the graduate faculty and has been awarded the AU-CVM Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000), the SGA Outstanding Teacher of the Year; College of Veterinary Medicine, Auburn University (2005), and The Norden Distinguished Teaching Award for the AU-CVM (2006).

University service has included serving as a member of the Graduate Council, the CVM representative to the University Curriculum committee (2 terms), the Post-Tenure Review committee, Faculty Grievance committee (1 year as chair) and the Academic Program Review committee (1 year as chair). Notable college and departmental committee work includes service on the CVM Curriculum committee, Dean’s Faculty Advisory committee, DCS Curriculum committee, Small Animal Teaching Hospital Building committee, and numerous faculty search committees. In addition, he has served on committees for the American College of Veterinary Surgeons including the ACVS Certifying Examination committee, the Residency Program Compliance committee and the Constitutional committee. He has twice represented the ACVS as their monitoring representative to the European College of Veterinary Surgeons during their certifying examination. 

Dr. Beverly Bain Marshall is the SunTrust Bank Professor of Finance in the Harbert College of Business. Dr. Marshall received her PhD from Georgia State University in 1998 and immediately after graduation joined the faculty of Auburn in the fall of 1998. She was promoted to Associate Professor in 2005 and rank of Professor in 2014.  Dr. Marshall has been an active member of the Eastern Finance Association and served in numerous officer roles including President in the year of the organization’s 50th anniversary. She is currently the Associate Editor for the Finance and Accounting track of the Journal of Business Research and an Associate Editor of the Journal of Undergraduate Research in Finance. Dr. Marshall is an advocate of international programs and global education. In addition to teaching international finance, she was Co-Director on a Business and International Education (BIE) grant, led numerous study abroad programs, and served the Harbert College of Business as its first Executive Director of Global Initiatives. At the University level, Dr. Marshall currently serves as the Faculty representative on the Board of Trustees Finance Committee, a voting faculty member on the Central Unit Allocation Committee, and as a member of the University Promotion and Tenure Committee. Previous service at the University level includes participation on the Huron Budget Steering Committee, Writing Initiative Task Force, International Skills Task Force, University Curriculum Committee, Senate Library Committee, and Professional Sports Counseling Panel. 


Last Updated:February 7, 2017

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4000 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©