AU Senate Steering June 6, 2023

Members: Mark Carpenter (Chair), L. Octavia Tripp (Secretary), Dan Svyantek (Past-chair), Lisa Kensler (Chair-elect), Linda Gibson-Young (Secretary-elect), Vni Nathan (Provost), Evelyn Hunter (Rules appointee), Danilea Werner (Rules appointee), Robert Norton (Presidential appointee), Robert Cochran (Presidential appointee).
Special Guests:  Todd Steury, Past Chair, AU Senate

The Chair welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 3:30 PM.
Discussion and approval of Steering Minutes from May 9, 2023. Minutes were approved with one correction of Interim Provost to Provost Nathan.

Provost Nathan confirmed Zoom presence for Senate Meeting via distance. Provost Nathan will have two announcements related to programs in two separate units.

Octavia Tripp recommended Secretary-elect Linda Gibson-Young to present Rules Committee Chair, Senate Committees Nominations. Reviewed all Rules-approved names and placed on Senate Agenda. With this vote, all senate committee faculty positions will be filled.
Todd Steury presented the Proposal to create NTTF Teaching Professorships. Proposal ideas presented with review of presentation. Questions brought forth to Dr. Steury with fundamental conversations related to specific requirements for NTTF. Plans to address with amendments.  
Lisa Kensler addressed outcome of the Senate Parliamentarian Search. Name to be announced at the Senate Meeting on June 13, 2023.

Approval of final Senate Agenda for 6/13/2023 at 3:30 pm
No Unfinished or New Business.
Meeting adjourned at 4:00pm.