Senate Steering Meeting
November 8, 2022
Via Zoom:

Members: Mark Carpenter (Chair), L. Octavia Tripp (Secretary), Dan Svyantek (Past-chair), Lisa Kensler (Chair-elect), Linda Gibson-Young (Secretary-elect), Vini Nathan (Interim Provost), Evelyn Hunter (Rules appointee), Robert Norton (Presidential appointee), Arianne Gaetano (sub for Danilea Werner), Robert Cochran (Presidential appointee).

Special Guests:  Norman Godwin, AP for Academic Effectiveness, Melody Russell, chair, Senate DEI committee, Jada Kohlmeier, chair, Senate Ad hoc committee on AU Professor rank.


Steering Agenda (times are approximate)

  • 3:30: Welcome Everyone and Call to order
  • 3:30: Discussion/approval of Steering Minutes from October 11 Meeting.
  • 3:35: Special Guests:

    a. 3:35: Norm Godwin, Associate Provost: Academic Policies Updates
    b. 3:45: Norm Godwin (in for Karen Battye): Fall 2023 Calendar Vote
    c. 3:55: Melody Russell, Senate DEI Committee Report
    d. 4:10: Jada Kohlmeier, AU Professor Rank Ad Hoc Committee Report.

  • 4:20: Octavia Tripp, Senate Secretary, Senate Committee Replacements who need to be voted on in Senate Meeting.
  • 4:25: Octavia Tripp, Candidates for the Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR)
  • 4:30: Discussion, edit, and approval of Senate Agenda for 11/15/2022 at 3:30 p.m.
  • 4:35: Unfinished or New Business?
  • Mission:  The Steering Committee acts on behalf of the AU Senate on matters requiring attention between meetings of that body and assists the chair of the Senate in setting the agenda for Senate meetings. In addition, it is concerned with the academic affairs of the University, with particular attention given to the need for developing and recommending policies under which these affairs are conducted. It works closely with other Senate committees to aid them in their assignments.