Agenda - Senate Steering Meeting
April 11, 2023
Via Zoom:

Members: Mark Carpenter (Chair), L. Octavia Tripp (Secretary), Dan Svyantek (Past-chair), Lisa Kensler (Chair-elect), Linda Gibson-Young (Secretary-elect), Vini Nathan (Interim Provost), Evelyn Hunter (Rules appointee), Robert Norton (Presidential appointee), Danilea Werner, Robert Cochran (Presidential appointee), Laura Kloberg (senate admin. support).

Special Guests: Mitchell Brown, Chair of the Senate Faculty Handbook Review Committee. Ash Curtiss, NTTF Committee Chair.


Steering Agenda (times are approximate)

  1. 3:30: Welcome and Call to order
  2. 3:30: Discussion/approval of Steering Minutes from March 7, 2023.
  3. 3:35: Welcome new members of the Senate 2023-2024 Leadership (Lori Eckhardt, Chair-Elect, and Jaena Alabi, Secretary-Elect)

    1. 3:40: Senate Business:
      1. Mark Carpenter/Lisa Kensler, public access to Senate committee reports.
      2. Mark Carpenter/Lisa Kensler, Administration Policy on Policies, PolicyonPolicies.pdf (
      3. Ash Curtiss, NTTF Committee Chair and Senior Lecturer in Chemistry/Biochemistry.
      4. Mitchell Brown and/or Norman Godwin, changes to the Faculty Handbook.
      5. Octavia Tripp, Rules Committee Chair, Senate Committees Nominations.
    2. 4:05: Discussion, edit, and approval of Senate Agenda for 4/18/2023 at 3:30 p.m.
    3. 4:10: Unfinished or New Business?