The committee shall act for the Senate on those matters requiring attention between meetings of that body and shall assist the chair of the Senate in setting the agenda for Senate meetings. In addition, it shall be concerned with the academic affairs of the University, with particular attention given to the need for developing and recommending policies under which these affairs are conducted. It shall work closely with other Senate committees to aid them in their assignments and shall receive an annual written report from each committee chair describing the committee's activities for the past year.

Minutes reporting formal action taken by the Steering Committee shall be given to each member of the Senate following their distribution.


2 appointed by the Rules Committee and approved by the Senate
2 appointed by the President


The Chair of the Senate as Chair 
The Provost
The Senate Chair-elect
The Senate Secretary 
The Senate Secretary-elect
The Immediate Past Chair of the Senate

Restrictions: Faculty appointments shall serve two-year staggered terms


Chair, Lisa Kensler 

Continuing Ex-Officio:

  • Vini Nathan – Provost and VP for Academic Affairs – Continuing
  • Lisa Kensler, Chair of University Senate, June – 2024
  • Lori Eckhardt, Chair-Elect of University Senate, June – 2024
  • Linda Gibson-Young, Secretary of the University Senate, June – 2024
  • Jaena Alabi, Secretary-Elect of the University Senate, June – 2024
  • Mark Carpenter, Immediate Past Chair of University Senate, June – 2024


Rules Committee appointees:

Presidential appointees:

Last Updated: July 22, 2023

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4000 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©