Auburn University Senate
March 14, 2023
3:30 p.m.

Via Zoom  

meeting will open 15 minutes prior for signing in early if you care to do so.


Establish a Quorum

All senators present must participate in the canvas quorum poll (this is equivalent to the sign-in sheet during in-person meetings). Attendance records will be based on this poll (and backed up by monitoring of zoom records).

Approval of minutes for the Senate meeting of February 21, 2023

Remarks and Announcements on University Matters

University Senate Chair. Mark Carpenter
President Christopher Roberts
Interim-Provost: Vini Nathan

Action Items

Vote on Rules Committee Nominations to replace the three senators rotating off the Rules Committee*. Terms begin in August 2023. Five nominations were taken from the floor during the February Senate meeting. One nominee withdrew, so the vote will be on four candidates (see bios). Senate will vote in 3 out of the 4 nominees.

Presenter: Octavia Tripp, Secretary

Pending Items

Proposed changes to the Faculty Handbook.  There are four substantive changes proposed and a vote for each will be held during the April Senate Meeting (see link to proposed changes). A two-thirds majority vote of the whole Senate is required for each proposal to pass. Therefore, participation in the April meeting is required.

Presenter: Mitchell Brown, Chair, Senate Faculty Handbook Review Committee.
proposed FHB changes (pdf)

New Business
Mark Carpenter, Senate Chair

Mark Carpenter, Senate Chair

*Restrictions on Rules Committee Membership: Elected members shall serve two-year staggered terms. Election of members to two-year terms shall be held by secret ballot at each March meeting of the Senate. Candidates who receive a majority vote shall be elected and their appointment shall become effective the following August. Nominations shall be made from the floor at the Senate's February meeting. Information about candidates shall be distributed to all Senators with the agenda for the March meeting. All members of the committee must be members of the Senate at the time of their election.