BILL TO: Student Senate

FROM: Collin Dorrill, College of Agriculture, Mary Cate Saville, Samuel Ginn College of

Engineering

RE: Commendation of Auburn Faculty for Rapid Response to COVID-19 Solutions

DATE: September 1, 2020

PSSC: 20-1012-01

Commendation of Auburn Faculty for Rapid Response to COVID-19 Solutions

WHEREAS, the COVID-19 pandemic has affected nearly every aspect of life and caused a need for hospital equipment, a vaccine, economic strategy for businesses, learning techniques for online classes, solutions for minority groups disproportionately affected and food insecure individuals, and more; and,

WHEREAS, innumerable Auburn Faculty members have risen to the occasion to dedicate time to solving these important issues and examining every factor for our community in addition to their regular obligations; and,

WHEREAS, the professors noted below are only few of a large number of faculty that have put an extensive amount of effort forward to find solutions to the COVID-19 pandemic while delivering an exceptional class experience to students in an entirely new format; and,

WHEREAS, we commend all of the Auburn Faculty members for their dedication and diligence throughout the COVID-19 pandemic in addition to the following notable examples of exemplary work; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Spencer Durham, Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice, was selected to be the sole pharmacist on Governor Kay Ivey's Coronavirus task force; and,

WHEREAS, sharing the impacts of COVID-19 from the perspective of all pharmacists by serving on the Coronavirus task force for Governor Kay Ivey directly affects COVID-19 related decisions that have been made over the past months; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. Marilyn Bulloch, Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice, has been on the frontlines treating patients and researching adjunctive therapies for use in the treatment of COVID-19; and,

WHEREAS, College of Sciences and Mathematics professors Dr. Nedret Billor, Dr. Jingyi Zheng, Tyler Smith, and Dr. Chris Goldsmith are actively working to mathematically model the spread of COVID-19 cases, and detect and treat COVID-19 symptoms, and determine potential changes in environmental risk due to the pandemic; and,

WHEREAS, Professors Dr. Tom Burch, Dr. Michael Zabala, and student Hayden Burch of the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering designed an accessory device called "RE-INVENT" that converts a common household CPAP machine to function as an emergency ventilator; and,

WHEREAS, "RE-INVENT" costs only \$700 and a few hours to assemble, as opposed to hard to find \$25,000 hospital ventilators, which directly alleviated the ventilator shortage and allowed a much larger amount of COVID-19 patients to recover; and;

WHEREAS, in the College of Agriculture, Dr. Ryan Thomson is leading a project that is researching the response of rural communities in the South to the COVID-19 Pandemic and determining the key issues these communities are facing; and,

WHEREAS, associate professor Dr. Tannista Banerjee of College of Liberal Arts was published in a top research journal discussing "U.S. county level analysis to determine if social distancing slowed the spread of COVID-19"; and,

WHEREAS, the research conducted and devices developed at Auburn University in the recent months have directly been a part of the solution and have positively impacted the Auburn community, and beyond; and,

WHEREAS, these are only a few examples of the extraordinary amount of research and relief efforts of Auburn faculty, and many more faculty members have contributed to find solutions related to the COVID-19 pandemic and make their own impact on the Auburn community; and,

THEREFORE, we, the Auburn University Student Senate, commend Auburn Faculty for fulfilling Auburn University's mission of improving the lives of the people of Alabama, the nation, and the world through forward-thinking education, life-enhancing research, and selfless service through the COVID-19 pandemic and working continuously to find solutions.

CC:

Dr. Jay Gogue, *President of Auburn University*

Dr. Bill Hardgrave, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Norman Godwin, Associate Provost for Academic Effectiveness

Dr. Emmett Winn, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

Jon Waggoner, Board Secretary, Auburn University Board of Trustees

Dr. Paul Patterson, Dean, College of Agriculture

Dr. Ryan Thomson, Assistant Professor, College of Agriculture

Dr. Christopher Roberts, Dean, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Dr. Tom Burch, Senior Lecturer, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Dr. Michael Zabala, Assistant Professor, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Hayden Burch, Student, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Dr. Joseph A. Aistrup, Dean, College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Tannista Banjeree, Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Nicholas Giordano, Dean, College of Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Nedret Billor, *Professor of Statistics*, *College of Sciences and Mathematics*

Dr. Jingyi Zheng, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Statistics, College of Sciences and Mathematics

Tyler Smith, *PhD Candidate*, *College of Sciences and Mathematics*

Dr. Chris Goldsmith, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Richard Hansen, Dean, Harrison School of Pharmacy

Dr. Marilyn Bulloch, Associate Clinical Professor, Harrison School of Pharmacy

Dr. Spencer Durham, Associate Clinical Professor, Harrison School of Pharmacy