Proposal for the addition of a Diversity committee to the Auburn Senate Constitution (2.1.2.4)

Article 4: Senate Committees

Section 1. Standing Committees of the Senate: The standing committees of the Senate shall be:

- Academic Computing
- Academic Program Review
- Academic Standards
- Administrator Evaluation
- Calendar and Schedules
- Competitive Research Grant
- Core Curriculum and General Education
- Curriculum
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
- Faculty Grievance
- Faculty Handbook Review
- Faculty Research
- Faculty Salaries and Welfare
- Graduate Council
- Lectures
- Library
- Nontenure-Track Faculty
- Retention
- Rules
- Steering
- Teaching Effectiveness
- University Writing

Composition and Charges of Standing Senate Committees

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee: The Diversity Committee shall be responsible for advocating for diversity, equity, and inclusion across the university. It shall communicate feedback on current policies and offer recommendations for improvements and new initiatives to the Office of Inclusion and Diversity, Student affairs, and to deans. It shall perform continuous monitoring and make regular reports to Senate on institutional data and assessments, issues related to Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity compliance, and the implementation and outcomes of inclusion, equity, and diversity initiatives in the university. The committee shall consist of one faculty member from each academic college and school serving three-year terms with staggered rotations, one of whom will serve as committee chair; two undergraduate students nominated by the President of the Student Organization. Continuing members are the Vice President and Associate Provost for Inclusion and Diversity; the Director of the Office of Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity; the Provost, or designee; the Vice-President for Student Affairs, or designee; and the Associate Vice President for Human Resources, or designee.