2020 HSOP Pharmacy Fellows Announced

2020 fellowship graphic

January 17, 2020

AUBURN, Alabama – Five Harrison School of Pharmacy faculty members are recipients of the school’s Pharmacy Fellowships, Dean Richard Hansen announced Friday. The fellowships recognize the accomplishments by outstanding faculty across a variety of areas, including research, teaching, outreach and collegiality.

The 2020 Pharmacy Fellows are Dr. Jessica Starr (Dr. Lucinda Maine Pharmacy Education Fellow), Drs. Miranda Reed and Vishnu Suppiramaniam (Jack and Lillian Clift Pharmacy Fellows in Research), Dr. Kelly Hester (Mahlon G. Turner Pharmacy Fellow in Outreach), and Dr. Lori Hornsby (Graduates of the 1980s Pharmacy Fellow).

“This is the second year of the HSOP Pharmacy Fellows program and we are excited to recognize another outstanding group of faculty members for their contributions to the Harrison School of Pharmacy,” said Hansen. “We are very thankful for the support of our alumni and friends who make this possible. We have so many great faculty members and it is always a pleasure to be able to recognize their hard work and create another way for them to make an impact on our students and community.”

Faculty were nominated for the fellowships and submitted supporting materials. The nominees were then reviewed by the Honors and Awards Committee with recommendations sent to the Dean.

The Lucinda Maine Pharmacy Education Fellow, awarded to Dr. Starr, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to create a powerful and inspiring learning environment that establishes the school as the leading destination for outstanding Doctor of Pharmacy and Graduate Students.

The Jack and Lillian Clift Pharmacy Fellow in Research, awarded to Drs. Reed and Suppiramaniam, recognizes faculty members in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who have excelled in the effort to engage in cutting-edge research that improves people’s lives, addresses critical societal issues, creates new knowledge and products, and generates extramural funding.

The Mahlon G. Turner Pharmacy Fellow in Outreach, awarded to Dr. Hester, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to provide world-class pharmaceutical care to patients and develop innovative practice models and partnerships to transform the health care system and improve human health.

The Graduates of the 1980s Pharmacy Fellow, awarded to Dr. Hornsby, recognizes a faculty member in the Harrison School of Pharmacy who has excelled in the effort to establish a culture of community that empowers faculty and staff to become leaders, achieve professional excellence, and attain personal fulfillment.

Each of the 2020 HSOP Pharmacy Fellows will hold the title of their respective fellowships for one year and will receive a monetary award that may be used as extra income or designated for faculty discretionary use. Each of the Fellows will have opportunities to use their fellowship year to play a leadership role in fostering education, research, outreach, and collegiality within the school.


About the Harrison School of Pharmacy

Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 20 percent of all pharmacy schools in the United States, according to U.S. News & World Report. Fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), the School offers doctoral degrees in pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and pharmaceutical sciences (Ph.D.) while also offering a master’s in pharmaceutical sciences. The School’s commitment to world-class scholarship and interdisciplinary research speaks to Auburn’s overarching Carnegie R1 designation that places Auburn among the top 100 doctoral research universities in the nation. For more information about the School, please call 334.844.8348 or visit http://pharmacy.auburn.edu.

Making Medications Work Through Innovative Research, Education and Patient Care

Last Updated: January 13, 2020