The Academy of American Poets


A Prize of $100


for poetry by an Auburn University student

will be awarded

at the English Department's

Spring Awards Ceremony



  • three poems maximum
  • no electronic submissions
  • cover sheet with contact information (no identification on poems)

to Jeremy Downes in the Auburn University

English Department

Haley Center 9030

Final Date: March 1, 2009


The Auburn University English Department is pleased to announce its annual Robert Hughes Mount, Jr., Poetry Prize, sponsored by the Academy of American Poets, and endowed by Mrs. Frances Mayes, offering a $100 prize for the best poem submitted by an Auburn University student. Graduate or undergraduate students may submit up to three poems to Jeremy Downes's mailbox in the English Department, 9030 Haley Center. The contest deadline is March 1, 2009. The prize-winner will be announced at the English Department's Awards Ceremony in April. Questions about Auburn's contest should be directed to the Poetry Prize Coordinator, Jeremy M. Downes, at 844-9040, or by e-mail at

Past judges of the Mount Poetry Prize have included poets Emma Bolden, Marvyn Petrucci, Juanita Torrence-Thompson, Rick Joines, Peter Huggins, Susan S. Chambers, Davis McCombs, and Katherine Soniat.

Student poets recognized in last year’s competition were Kathryn Baldwin and Susanna Coleman.

The Academy of American Poets University & College Poetry Prize Program was founded in 1955 with only ten schools, but now awards more than 170 prizes across the country. Many prominent American poets won their first recognition with an Academy College Prize, including Mark Doty, Tess Gallagher, Louise Glück, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Heather McHugh, William Matthews, Robert Pinsky, Sylvia Plath, George Starbuck, Mark Strand, and Charles Wright.

Prizes are funded by alumni interested in encouraging young writers, by the colleges and universities themselves, or through the gifts of donors to the Academy. Two-thirds of the prizes are now, like Auburn's, supported by permanent endowments. The Academy of American Poets is the largest organization in the country dedicated specifically to poetry. The academy sponsors a broad range of national programs, including the prestigious Whitman, Laughlin, and Marshall Awards, as well as National Poetry Month in April, an annual celebration of the vitality and richness of American poetry. For more information visit, the Academy's lively and comprehensive web site.

This site maintained by Jeremy M. Downes, Poetry Prize Coordinator

Last update November 15, 2008