Provost's Award for
Faculty Excellence in Fostering Undergraduate Research and Creative Scholarship

This award is established to recognize and encourage the individual efforts of Auburn faculty who mentor undergraduate students in research and creative endeavors. The award is designed to honor the practice of mentoring undergraduate research and scholarship, and it is meant to highlight significant commitment to undergraduate scholarship and creative work outside the classroom.

The deadline to submit an application is March 1, 2017.

To see these requirements in .pdf form, please click here.

To be eligible, the candidate must be a member of the Auburn faculty who is currently mentoring or has mentored undergraduate students that are attending or have graduated from Auburn University. A tangible mentoring relationship with undergraduate students must be demonstrated. A faculty recipient of the award may be eligible to apply or be nominated again after three years from the date of receipt of the previous award and may not receive the award more than three times.

The faculty member must have a successful history mentoring undergraduate students in creative endeavors that involve studying or solving a problem, creating or designing a piece of work, or similar activities appropriate to the discipline.
Evidence must be submitted demonstrating major commitment to undergraduate development and scholarship, including the following:

  • Significant impact on the intellectual and professional development of undergraduate students
  • Demonstrated excellence in the creative endeavor (national and regional awards, peer-reviewed publications, student presentations, performances, or showings)
  • Ability to motivate and instill values beneficial to undergraduate students.

The award includes a monetary award of $1,000 and a plaque that will be presented during the Provost Award Ceremony. News of the award will be disseminated via the Auburn University Office of Communications and Marketing, and the Auburn University Office of Undergraduate Research website.

The application will consist of:

  • A cover letter from the Department Chair corroborating the mentoring relationship(s) and endorsing the nominee, including a brief discussion of why the faculty member should receive the award (2-page limit)
  • A letter from the faculty member addressing the award criteria, especially highlighting peer recognition and awards resulting from the relationship(s), as well as a listing of mentored undergraduates (name, dates, publications, presentations, showings, etc.)
  • A statement of mentoring philosophy prepared by the nominee (3-page limit)
  • Up to five letters from undergraduate students or undergraduate alumni who have been directly mentored by the faculty member;
  • Any supporting information providing evidence of the creative endeavor(s) between the students and nominee
  • A 2-page curriculum vitae from the faculty member. Upon request applications will be considered for up to 3 years.

Nominations will be evaluated based upon the aforementioned criteria by a formal selection committee. The selection committee shall consist of:

  • Three faculty representatives
  • A representative of the Provost's office
  • The immediate past faculty recipient of the award
  • A current Auburn University undergraduate student who is involved in research or creative scholarship

All nominations must be submitted electronically in a single PDF or WORD file to Dr. Lorraine W. Wolf, Director of Undergraduate Research ( and received by March 1, 2017.

2015-2016 Awardees

Dr. Leonardo De La Fuente

Dr. Leonardo De La Fuente

Assoc. Professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology

Dr. Elizabeth Lipke

Dr. Elizabeth Lipke

Assoc. Professor, Chemical Engineering

2014-2015 Awardee

Dr. Alan Wilson

Dr. Alan Wilson

Assoc. Professor, Fisheries, Aquaculture, and Aquatic Sciences

2013-2014 Awardee

Dr. Saad Biaz

Dr. Saad Biaz

Assoc. Professor, Computer Science and Software Engineering

2012-2013 Awardee

Dr. Martha Escobar

Dr. Martha Escobar

Assoc. Professor, Pyschology

2011-2012 Awardee

Dr. Miachel Squillacote

Dr. Michael Squillacote

Assoc. Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Last Updated: January 26, 2017