Board of Trustees

UNDER THE ORGANIC and statutory laws of Alabama, Auburn University is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of one member from each congressional district, as these districts were constituted on January 1, 1961, an extra member from the congressional district in which the institution is located, and the Governor and State Superintendent of Education, who are members ex officio. The Governor is President. Trustees are appointed by the Governor, by and with the consent of the State Senate, and hold office for a term of twelve years, and until their successors are appointed and qualified. Members of the board receive no compensation. By executive order of the Governor in 1971, a non-voting student representative selected by the Student Senate serves as a member ex officio.

The Board of Trustees places administrative authority and responsibility in the hands of an administrative officer at Auburn University. The institution is grouped for administrative purposes into divisions, colleges, schools and departments.


Members Ex Officio


FORREST H. JAMES, JR., Governor of Alabama, President, Montgomery

EDWARD R. RICHARDSON, State Superintendent of Education, Montgomery

SGA President, non-voting, Main Campus

Student Body Representative, non-voting, Auburn University at Montgomery


Appointed Members

Term Ending In 1995 *

ROBERT E. LOWDER, Montgomery, Second Congressional District

JAMES T. TATUM, JR., Huntsville, Eighth Congressional District


Appointed Members

Terms Ending In 1999

EMORY O. CUNNINGHAM, President Pro Tempore, Birmingham Ninth Congressional District

JOHN V. DENSON, Opelika, Third Congressional District

BESSIE MAE HOLLOWAY, Prichard, First Congressional District

WILLIAM JAMES SAMFORD, JR., Opelika, Third Congressional District


Terms Ending In 2003

LOWELL R. BARRON, Fyffe, Fifth Congressional District

CHARLES G. GLOVER, Cullman, Seventh Congressional District

JACK B. VENABLE, Tallassee, Fourth Congressional District


Term Ending In 2007

PAUL J. SPINA, JR., Hoover, Sixth Congressional District


* Positions filled by incumbents until successors are appointed and confirmed.


AU Bulletin Table of Contents

Search the AU Bulletin

AU Bulletin Homepage

Auburn University's Homepage