Aubie advances to top four in the Capital One Mascot Challenge

Carol Nelson, Office of Communications and Marketing



After 13 weeks of voting, Aubie the Tiger is one of four mascots still standing in the playoffs of the Capital One Bowl Mascot Challenge. The playoffs started a whole new round of the competition, which will run through Dec. 12.

This week, Nov. 28 through Dec. 5, Aubie is facing one of his toughest competitors of the season, Nevada's currently undefeated Wolfie Jr. If Aubie can win this week, he'll advance to the final round with a chance to become National Mascot of the Year.

Aubie needs the help of the Auburn Family to win. Fans can vote for Aubie an unlimited number of times by going to, Facebook at, or by texting "Aubie" to 78527 up to 249 times an hour. Standard messaging rates apply.

Aubie has competed throughout football season with 15 other college mascots as part of the Capital One All-America Mascot Team. The top eight mascots with the best head-to-head records began competing last week in a bracket-style, single-elimination competition to determine the overall winner.

This is Aubie's sixth year in the National Mascot of the Year challenge, but he has yet to win the competition. To view the Capital One Mascot challenge video feature on Aubie, go to

The Capital One National Mascot of the Year will be announced at the Capital One Bowl on Jan. 2 and will be awarded a $20,000 scholarship to help fund its school's mascot program. Each of the 2011 Capital One All-America team members receives $5,000 for their university mascot program.

Other members of the 2011 Capital One All-America Mascot Team, as nominated by their schools and selected by a panel of judges from Capital One and the mascot community, include Wilbur T. Wildcat of University of Arizona, Sparty of Michigan State University, Mike the Tiger of Louisiana State University, Testudo of the University of Maryland, Wolfie Jr. of the University of Nevada, Hairy Dawg of the University of Georgia, Boomer of the University of Oklahoma, Brutus Buckeye of The Ohio State University, Big Blue of Old Dominion University, Duck of the University of Oregon, Benny Beaver of Oregon State University, Buzz of Georgia Tech, SuperFrog of TCU, Cy of Iowa State and Big Red of Western Kentucky University.

Last Updated: Nov. 29, 2011

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-9999 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©