University has a long and rich history. Chartered in 1856, the college
opened in 1859 and became affiliated with the Methodist Church.
Over the years, the institution has had four official names:
East Alabama Male College (1856-72)
Agricultural and Mechanical College (1872-99)
Alabama Polytechnic Institute (1889 - 1960)
Auburn University (1960-present)
Accounts since the 19th century show that, regardless of the official
name, the state's land-grant university has always been know as
"Auburn," a name taken by the Lee County community from the Oliver
Goldsmith poem, "The Deserted Village." The poem includes the line,
"Sweet Auburn, loveliest village of the plain."
Within the past 150 years, Auburn University has grown to be one
of the top universities in the country.
Click on the links to the left to see where it all began and what
makes AU so great. Featured items include a quick-facts history
of Auburn and Samford Hall. There are also links to find out more
about the university, its traditions and Aubie, AU's fantastic mascot.