Mollie Stricklin, 334/844-1476


AUBURN -- A gift to Auburn University from Joyce and Roger Lethander of Auburn will enable students in Auburn's Department of Art to participate in an annual student art competition.

In cooperation with the Jule Collins Smith Museum of Art at AU, the Department of Art will present the Joyce and Roger Lethander Art Award to recognize excellent works by art students. The total award of $1,500 will be divided among award recipients.

Only original works -- produced in any medium -- will be eligible for the competition. William Eiland, director of the Georgia Museum of Art at the University of Georgia since 1992, will serve as the juror for this year's competition.

The entries will be judged March 10, and the winners will be announced at the opening reception of the Annual Juried Student Exhibition on March 14 in the Foy Student Union gallery.

Several Lethander awards will be presented to recognize outstanding student art. The winning entry will become the property of AU, and the artist will receive a $750 purchase award. There will also be a $750 merit award to be divided among two or more recipients.

"I like to see things that stimulate students to do the best they can, and a competition such as this gives them something to fight for," said Roger Lethander. "This occurs everyday in athletics, and I believe it can have the same effect in academics."

The Lethanders plan to continue annual funding for the competition.

Art students may submit up to three entries by March 9, 2001. Application forms are available online at www.auburn.edu/art and in the Art Department's main office.

# # #


CONTACT: Dara Kloss, 334/844-2365.<.html>