Constitutional Statement

Auburn University Board of Trustees

Auburn University is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of one member from each congressional district, as these districts were constituted on Jan. 1, 1961, one member from Lee County, three at large members, all of whom shall be residents of the continental United States, and the Governor, who is ex-officio. The Governor is the President. Prior to 2003, trustees were appointed by the Governor, by and with the consent of the State Senate, for a term of 12 years. Any new trustees will be appointed by a committee, by and with the consent of the State Senate, for a term of seven years, and may serve no more than two full seven-year terms. A member may continue to serve until a successor is confirmed, but in no case for more than one year after a completion of a term. Members of the board receive no compensation. Consistent with an executive order of the Governor in 1971, a non-voting student representative selected by the student body serves as a member ex-officio.

Last Updated: Sept. 24, 2010

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4866 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©