Meeting Minutes of the Steering Committee
5 April 2012
3:30 p.m.  Room 107 Samford Hall
(by Larry Crowley, Secretary)

In Attendance: Michael Baginski , Tim Boosinger, Larry Crowley, Claire Crutchley, Robin Jaffe,  Laura Plexico, Ann Beth Presley, Bill Sauser
Guests: Emmett Winn
Absent: Nedret Billor and Andy Wohrley

-- The meeting was called to order at 3:40 pm

-- The meeting minutes of March 29, 2012 Steering Committee were approved as written.

-- Faculty Spring Meeting agenda for April 10th was finalized as follows: 
State of the University Address by Dr. Gogue
Provost Remarks by Dr. Boosinger
AAUP Glenn Howze Academic Freedom Award by Robin Jaffe
SACS Reaccreditation by Drew Clark
International Programs by Andy Gillespie
Chairs Remarks by Ann Beth Presley
Election Result Announcement by Bill Sauser

-- A discussion of the collegiality phrasing in promotion and tenure section of the Phase II Faculty handbook took place.  The phrase in question, brought up by Michael Stern, is not part of the Senate adopted handbook.  It will be removed from the Phase II handbook and replaced with the adopted language.  Bill Sauser will email this to Michael Stern in reply.

-- The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm