Meeting Minutes of the Steering Committee
4 January 2012
3:30 p.m.  Room 107 Samford Hall
(by Larry Crowley, Secretary)

In Attendance: Nedret Billor, Michael Baginski , Emmett Winn (for Tim Boosinger), Larry Crowley, Claire Crutchley, Robin Jaffe,  Laura Plexico, Ann Beth Presley, Bill Sauser, Andy Wohrley
Guests: Chris Roberts (left at 4:30 when he finished his presentation)
Absent: None without substitute

-- The meeting was called to order at 3:30 pm

-- The meeting minutes of November 9, 2011 Steering Committee were approved as written.

--Chris Roberts, Task Force Chair, gave a presentation on the activities of Auburn’s Energy and Environment Research Task Force.  Activities involve developing recommendations on how best to organize and pursue collaborative research funding in the energy and environmental areas at Auburn.

-- Emmett Winn distributed draft wording for a senate resolution to clarify Instructor eligibility for tenure at Auburn.  The faculty handbook currently has sections in conflict on this issue.

-- Senate agenda was finalized with no action items and three information items as follows:

Information 1) Bill Sauser will provide information on the “instructor eligibility for tenure” issue and then with ensuing discussion at the senate meeting get a sense of the senate on the direction that needs to be taken with an action item during the February Meeting.

Information 2) Kathy McClelland, Instructional Multimedia Group of Auburn's Office of Information Technology will give a presentation on the CANVAS Learning Management System being rolled out this semester at Auburn.

Information 3) Chris Roberts, Task Force Chair, will report on the activities of the Energy and Environment (E&E) Task Force.

-- Next Meeting will be January 19, 2012 at 3:30 pm in Room 107.

-- The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 pm