Minutes of the General Faculty Meeting
March 19, 2013
3:30 p.m.

Broun Hall Auditorium
Faithfully Submitted by:

Robin Jaffe, University Senate Secretary
Full transcript for Gen Faculty Meeting March 19, 2013


Call to Order 
Approval of minutes of the October 9, 2012

Remarks and Announcements 
Office of the President
Dr. Jay Gogue, President

Dr. Gogue shared several items of importance to the campus.

1) State appropriations is that the Governor’s budget when he submitted it in February was about a 2% increase

2) 5 key items of the discussions with Departments:

a) graduation rate has risen from 61% to 66% in 6 years, this needs to rise 12% - 15% hire
b) E-learning and electronic delivery of classes
c) Gates Foundation work with Carnegie Mellon to reduce time in school
d) Enrollment growth
e) International student undergraduates

3) Cyber security and the hiring of Ron Burgess and head of the cyber security
4) Auburn University faculty’s work with the gulf oil spill and then publication of the work in Auburn Speaks
5) Students awards that were won by Auburn Students
6) SACS visitation at the end of the month
7) QEP e-portfolio project
8) Thirteen resolutions approved from the University Senate

Office of the Provost
Dr. Tim Boosinger, Provost

Dr. Boosinger discussed the items that included the Strategic Planning Process, SACS visitation, Research Week, and the appointment of Melissa Bowman as Assistant Provost for Undergraduate Studies and the Director of our Honors Program.

Office of the Ombudsperson
Judge Howard Bryan, Interim Ombudsperson

Judge Bryan introduced himself and said a few words.

Information Items
1) AAUP Glenn Howze Academic Freedom Award Presentation
Herb Rotfeld, President of AAUP-Auburn University Chapter

Dr. Rotfeld announced the award of the AAUP Glenn Howze Academic Freedom
Award to Dr. James Goldstein, professor of English

2) Campus Parking Analysis
Dan King, Vice President, Facilities Administration
presentation (pdf)

Vice President King made presentation and there was no discussion

University Senate: 
Dr. William Sauser, Senate Chair
presentation (ppt)

Dr. Sauser made presentation covering the priority items that were covered during the past year for the University Senate and their status, was no discussion

University Senate Officer Election Results:
Dr. Larry Crowley, Senate Chair-Elect

Dr. Crowley announced the Patricia Duffy had won the election for Chair-Elect and that Gislea Buschle-Diller had won for Secretary-Elect. He thanked all candidates for their participation in the election, which also included Michael Baginski for Chair-Elect and Margaret Flores for Secretary-Elect.

Unfinished Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
No Unfinished Business

New Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
No New Business

Adjournment: William Sauser, Senate 
Meeting adjourned, 4:45 pm