Minutes of the University Senate Meeting
October 2, 2012
3:30 p.m.
Broun Hall Auditorium
Faithfully Submitted by:
Robin Jaffe, University Senate Secretary

For Complete Transcript of the October 2, 2012 University Senate Meeting.

Senate Officers 
Chair, Bill Sauser
Chair-elect, Larry Crowley
Secretary, Robin Jaffe
Secretary-elect, Judy Sheppard

Dean, College of Business, Bill Hardgrave
Dean, College of Education, Betty Lou Whitford
Dean, Graduate School, George Flowers: George Crandell                 

Ex-Officio Members:
Provost, Timothy R. Boosinger
A&P Assembly Chair, Chuck Hunt 
Steering Committee, Don Mulvaney
Steering Committee, Laura Plexico

Senators by Departments:
Accountancy, Robert Cochran
Aerospace Engineering, Andrew Sinclair
Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology, Valentina Hartarska
AAES, Jim Bannon
Agronomy & Soils, Scott McElroy
Animal Sciences, Dale Coleman
Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology, Dean Schwartz
Architecture, Joselyn Zanzot
Art, Zdenko Krtic
Biological Sciences, Bob Locy
Building Sciences, Mark Taylor
Chemical Engineering, Steve Duke
Chemistry, Eduardus Duin
Civil Engineering, Cliff Lange
Communication and Journalism, Robert Agne
Communication Disorders, Daniel Phillips
Computer Science & Software Engineering, Sanjeev Baskiyar
Curriculum & Teaching, Jada Kohlmeier
Economics, Michael Stern
Educational Foundations, Leadership & Technology, Lisa Kensler
English, James Goldstein
Fisheries & Allied Aquaculture, Rusty Wright
Foreign Lang & Literatures, Adrienne Angelo
Geology & Geography, Bill Hames
History, Aaron Shapiro
Human Development & Family Studies, Ellen Abell
Kinesiology, Jared Russell
Library, Prambanisha King Whaley
Management, Peter Stanwick
Marketing, Herb Rotfeld     
Mathematics and Statistics, Dmitry Glotov
Music, Doug Rosener
Nursing, Wm. (Stuart) Pope
Nutrition & Foods, Suresh Mathews
Pathobiology, Vicky van Santen
Pharmacal Sciences, Forest Smith
Pharmacy Practice, Wesley Lindsey
Physics, Mike Bozack
Political Science, Murray Jardine
Poultry Science, Shelly McKee 
Psychology, Daniel Svyantek   
Special E. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych: Jill Meyer
Socio/Anthro/Social Work, Emily Myers
Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Annette Smith

Absent, sending a substitute: Senator, Substitute:
Dean, College of Agriculture, William Batchelor: Joseph J. Molnar
Dean, CADC, Vini Nathan: R. O’neal Dagg 
Dean, Harrison School of Pharmacy, R. Lee Evans: Kimberly Braxton Lloyd
Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Anne-Katrin Gramberg: Charles Israel
Dean of Libraries, Bonnie MacEwan: Marcia Boosinger
Horticulture, Fenny Dane: Elina Dimitrova Coneva
Industrial Engineering, Jerry Davis: Fadel Megahed
Pharmacy Care Systems, Brent Fox: Kimberly Blake

Absent, no substitute:
Immediate Past-Chair, Ann Beth Presley
Interim Dean, COSAM, Chuck Savrda 
Dean, School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences, Jim Shepard 
SGA President, Owen Parrish 
GSC President, Glenn Hughes   
Staff Council Chair, Joseph Ellis
Steering Committee, Michael Baginski
Steering Committee, Larry Teeter   
ACES, Paul Brown
Aviation Management & Logistics, TBA
Biosystems Engineering, Sushil Adhikari
Consumer Affairs, Wi-Suk Kwon
Electrical & Computer Engineering, Thomas Baginski                
Entomology & Plant Pathology, Leonardo De La Fuente
Finance, Harris Hollans
Forestry & Wildlife Science, Gary Hepp 
Industrial Design, Jerrod Bradley Windham
Mechanical Engineering, Bart Prorok 
Outreach, Chippewa Thomas  
Philosophy, Guy Rohrbaugh
Polymer/Fiber Engineering, Gwynedd Thomas
ROTC Air Force, TBA    
ROTC Army, Scott Copeland
ROTC Naval, Richard Fox
Theatre, Chase Bringardner

Call to Order
• William Sauser: University Senate Chair called the meeting to order, reviewed the rules of the senate,
and a quorum was established.

• Minutes from September 11, 2012 Senate Meeting were accepted as posted without change.  

Remarks and Announcements

Office of the President
Dr. Gogue, President

Three Items Discussed

  1. Movement of money from the Trust Fund, not the Educational Trust Fund, but moving money from the Trust Fund into the General Fund agencies, it was good it passed for higher education.
  2. Board of Trustees Meeting items discussed
    a) a permanent salary increase one within that budget was approved
    b) a 2% funded centrally, one–time money that would be available as salary increases in December
  3. Board of Trustee’s Sam Ginn and John Blackwell terms have expired, announcement for the new member search will be made shortly

Office of the Provost:
Tim Boosinger, Provost

University Senate Chair
        William Sauser
         presentation (ppt)

Action Items

  1. Nominations of Senate Committees
    Presenter: Robin Jaffe, Senate Secretary
    Senate Committee Nominee

    No Discussion
    Nominee for Committee was Approved
    56 FOR – 0 AGAINST

  2. Administrator Hiring Resolution
    Presenter: Larry Crowley, Senate Chair- Elect
    Originally Approved by University Senate 10/02/07
    (Not approved by Provost or President at that time)
                Hiring Resolution

Discussion took place

Initial Amendment was made and this was defeated 15 to 44

A friendly amendment was accepted by presenter.

Second Amendment was made and this was defeated 19 to 38

Vote was taken on Amendment with accepted change in wording from “should” to “shall”
Resolution was passed 36 to 15

Action Items Pending

No Action Items Pending

Information Items  

  1. Healthy Tigers Program
    Presenter: Kimberly Braxton Lloyd, Pharmacy Health Services
       Link to presentation (ppt)

  2. Traffic and Parking Committee
    Cathy Love, Chair: Traffic and Parking Committee
    Jeffrey Dumar, Campus Planner: Office of Campus Planning and Space Mgt.
    Don Andrae, Manager: Parking Services.
       Link to presentation (ppt)

Unfinished Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
New Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
Adjournment: William Sauser, Senate Chair
Meeting Adjourned at 5:15 pm