Minutes of the University Senate Meeting
September 11, 2012
3:30 p.m.
Broun Hall Auditorium
Faithfully Submitted by:
Robin Jaffe, University Senate Secretary

For Complete Transcript of the September 11, 2012 University Senate Meeting.

A pdf copy of the Senators attending the September 11 meeting.

Senate Officers 
Chair, Bill Sauser
Chair-elect, Larry Crowley
Secretary, Robin Jaffe
Secretary-elect, Judy Sheppard

Dean, College of Agriculture, William Batchelor    
Dean, CADC, Vini Nathan 
Interim Dean, COSAM, Chuck Savrda 
Dean, College of Education, Betty Lou Whitford
Dean, Harrison School of Pharmacy, R. Lee Evans
Ex-Officio Members:
Provost, Timothy R. Boosinger
Dean of Libraries, Bonnie MacEwan
Steering Committee, Don Mulvaney
Steering Committee, Michael Baginski
Steering Committee, Larry Teeter   
Senators by Departments:
Accountancy, Robert Cochran
Aerospace Engineering, Andrew Sinclair
Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology, Valentina Hartarska
AAES, Jim Bannon
Agronomy & Soils, Scott McElroy
Animal Sciences, Dale Coleman
Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology, Dean Schwartz
Architecture, Joselyn Zanzot
Art, Zdenko Krtic
Biological Sciences, Bob Locy
Biosystems Engineering, Sushil Adhikari: Oladiran Fasina
Chemistry, Eduardus Duin
Communication and Journalism, Robert Agne
Communication Disorders, Daniel Phillips
Computer Science & Software Engineering, Sanjeev Baskiyar
Consumer Affairs, Wi-Suk Kwon
Economics, Michael Stern
Educational Foundations, Leadership & Technology, Lisa Kensler
Electrical & Computer Engineering, Thomas Baginski                
English, James Goldstein
Entomology & Plant Pathology, Leonardo De La Fuente
Finance, Harris Hollans
Fisheries & Allied Aquaculture, Rusty Wright
History, Aaron Shapiro
Library, Prambanisha King Whaley
Management, Peter Stanwick
Marketing, Herb Rotfeld     
Mathematics and Statistics, Dmitry Glotov
Music, Doug Rosener
Nursing, Wm. (Stuart) Pope
Pathobiology, Vicky van Santen
Pharmacy Care Systems, Brent Fox
Pharmacy Practice, Wesley Lindsey
Philosophy, Guy Rohrbaugh
Physics, Mike Bozack
Political Science, Murray Jardine
Polymer/Fiber Engineering, Gwynedd Thomas
Poultry Science, Shelly McKee 
Psychology, Daniel Svyantek   
Special E. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych: Jill Meyer
Socio/Anthro/Social Work, Emily Myers
Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Annette Smith

Absent, sending a substitute: Senator, Substitute:
Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Anne-Katrin Gramberg: Charles Israel
Dean, College of Business, Bill Hardgrave: Joe Hanna
Dean, Graduate School, George Flowers: George Crandell                 
Steering Committee, Laura Plexico: Larry Molt
Foreign Lang & Literatures, Adrienne Angelo: Lourdes Betanzos
Geology & Geography, Bill Hames: David King
Industrial Engineering, Jerry Davis: Sean Gallagher
Nutrition & Foods, Suresh Mathews: Ramesh Jeganathain
Pharmacal Sciences, Forest Smith: Daniel Rarsons

Absent, no substitute:
Immediate Past-Chair, Ann Beth Presley Absent
Dean, School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences, Jim Shepard 
SGA President, Owen Parrish 
GSC President, Glenn Hughes   
Staff Council Chair, Joseph Ellis
A&P Assembly Chair, Chuck Hunt 
ACES, Paul Brown    
Aviation Management & Logistics, TBA
Building Sciences, Mark Taylor
Chemical Engineering, Steve Duke
Civil Engineering, Cliff Lange
Curriculum & Teaching, Jada Kohlmeier
Forestry & Wildlife Science, Gary Hepp 
Horticulture, Fenny Dane
Human Development & Family Studies, Ellen Abell
Kinesiology, Jared Russell
Mechanical Engineering, Bart Prorok 
Outreach, Chippewa Thomas   
ROTC Air Force, TBA    
ROTC Army, Scott Copeland
ROTC Naval, Richard Fox
Theatre, Chase Bringardner

Call to Order

• William Sauser: University Senate Chair called the meeting to order, reviewed the rules of the senate,
and a quorum was established.
• Minutes from August 21, 2012 Senate Meeting were accepted as posted without change.

Remarks and Announcements

Office of the President
Presented by: Dr. Jay Gogue

Office of Provost
Presented by: Dr. Tim Boosinger

University Senate Chair
William Sauser
Senate Chair's Report Presentation (ppt) 

Action Items

No action items

Action Items Pending
Presentation was made and reviewed, there was discussion and suggestions, this item to be review by Steering Committee
for resubmission.

1) Administrator Hiring Resolution 
    Presenter: Larry Crowley, Senate Chair- Elect
    Originally Approved by University Senate 10/02/07
    (Not approved by Provost or President at that time)
    Link to Resolution

Information Item:
Presentations were made and reviewed, there was a small amount of questions and discussion.

1) New Online Textbook Ordering System
    Presenter: Rusty Weldon, Assistant Director, Auburn University Bookstore
    presentation (ppt) 
2) Auburn University Employee’s Benefit Update
    Presenter: Karla S. McCormick, Executive Director, 
      Payroll and Employee Benefits
    presentation (ppt)

Unfinished Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
New Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair 

Adjournment: William Sauser, Senate Chair
Meeting adjourned at 4:50 pm