Minutes of the University Senate  Meeting
May 7, 2013
3:30 p.m.
Broun Hall Auditorium
Faithfully Submitted by:
Robin Jaffe, University Senate Secretary

For Complete Transcript of the May 7, 2013 University Senate Meeting.

Senate Officers 
Chair, Bill Sauser
Chair-elect, Larry Crowley
Immediate Past-Chair, Ann Beth Presley
Secretary, Robin Jaffe
Secretary-elect, Judy Sheppard

Dean, CADC, Vini Nathan
Dean, College of Business, Bill Hardgrave
Interim Dean, COSAM, Chuck Savrda
Dean, College of Education, Betty Lou Whitford
Dean, School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences, Jim Shepard
Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Anne-Katrin Gramberg
Dean, Graduate School, George Flowers

Ex-Officio Members:
Provost, Timothy R. Boosinger
Dean of Libraries, Bonnie MacEwan
GSC President, Frank Sturm
A&P Assembly Chair, Chuck Hunt
Steering Committee, Don Mulvaney
Steering Committee, Laura Plexico
Steering Committee, Larry Teeter

Senators by Departments:
Aerospace Engineering, Andrew Sinclair
Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology, Valentina Hartarska
AAES, Jim Bannon
Agronomy & Soils, Scott McElroy
Animal Sciences, Dale Coleman
Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology, Dean Schwartz
Art, Zdenko Krtic
Aviation Management & Logistics, Randy Johnson
Biological Sciences, Bob Locy
Biosystems Engineering, Sushil Adhikari
Building Sciences, Mark Taylor
Chemical Engineering, Steve Duke 
Chemistry, Eduardus Duin
Communication and Journalism, Robert Agne
Communication Disorders, Daniel Phillips
Computer Science & Software Engineering, Sanjeev Baskiyar
Consumer Affairs, Wi-Suk Kwon
Economics, Michael Stern
Educational Foundations, Leadership & Technology, Lisa Kensler
Electrical & Computer Engineering, Thomas Baginski
English, James Goldstein
Entomology & Plant Pathology, Leonardo De La Fuente
Finance, Harris Hollans
Fisheries & Allied Aquaculture, Rusty Wright
Geology & Geography, David King
Horticulture, Fenny Dane 
Kinesiology, Jared Russell
Management, Peter Stanwick
Marketing, Herb Rotfeld
Mechanical Engineering, Dong-Joo Kim
Music, Doug Rosener
Pathobiology, Vicky van Santen
Pharmacy Care Systems, Brent Fox
Philosophy, Guy Rohrbaugh
Political Science, Murray Jardine
Polymer/Fiber Engineering, Gwynedd Thomas
Socio/Anthro/Social Work, Emily Myers
Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Annette Smith

Absent, sending a substitute: Senator, Substitute:
Foreign Lang & Literatures, Adrienne Angelo: Lourdes Betanzos
Library, Prambanisha King Whaley: Todd Shipmon
Mathematics and Statistics, Dmitry Glotov: Herman Goeters
Nursing, Wm. (Stuart) Pope: David Crumbley
Psychology, Daniel Svyantek: Ana Franco-Watkins
Special E. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych, Jill Meyer: Margaret Flores

Absent, no substitute:
Dean, College of Agriculture, William Batchelor
Dean, Harrison School of Pharmacy, R. Lee Evans
SGA President, Harrison Mills
Staff Council Chair, Joseph Ellis
Steering Committee, Michael Baginski
Accountancy, Robert Cochran
ACES, Paul Brown
Architecture, Joselyn Zanzot
Civil Engineering, Cliff Lange
Curriculum & Teaching, Jada Kohlmeier 
Forestry & Wildlife Science, Gary Hepp
History, Aaron Shapiro
Human Development & Family Studies, Ellen Abell
Industrial Engineering, Jerry Davis
Industrial Design, Jerrod Bradley Windham
Nutrition & Foods, Suresh Mathews
Outreach, Chippewa Thomas 
Pharmacal Sciences, Forest Smith
Pharmacy Practice, Wesley Lindsey
Physics, Mike Bozack
Poultry Science, Shelly McKee
ROTC Air Force, Jeffrey Hemmes
ROTC Army, Scott Copeland
ROTC Naval, Richard Fox
Theatre, Chase Bringardner

Call to Order
• William Sauser: University Senate Chair called the meeting to order, 
reviewed the rules of the senate, and a quorum was established.

• Minutes from April 2, 2013 Senate Meeting were accepted as posted 
without change. Approval of Minutes from April 2, 2013

Remarks and Announcements
Office of the President
Jay Gogue, President

Dr. Gogue remarks included information on the university graduations, the approval of the
twenty-three Academic Affairs items approved at the last Board of Trustees meeting for AUM and Auburn Main campuses, as well as the allegations about grade changing that have been in the papers and on the internet sites.

Dr. Gogue also commented on several items that are happening in the State Legislature, one
of which was the possible budget increase for higher education of about 1.42%.

Office of the Provost
Tim Boosinger, Provost

Dr. Boosinger remarks included the announcement of an open forum for Promotion and Tenure, the status of the Strategic Plan, and the Dean searches for the College of Science and Mathematics and the College of Liberal Arts.

University Senate Chair
William Sauser
Presentation (Link to PowerPoint)

Action Items
No Action Items

Action Items Pending

1) Academic Standards Committee
Presenter: Brian Parr, Chair, Academic Standards Committee
Policy on Classroom Attendance (pdf file)

Dr. Parr presented the item on classroom attendance and discussion followed the          presentation. (See transcript)

Information Items  
1) Intercollegiate Athletics Committee
Presenter: Mary Boudreaux, Chair, Intercollegiate Athletics Committee
Report from the Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics (PowerPoint file)

Dr. Boudreaux presented the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee report, and there
was no discussion.

2) Athletics Compliance Office
Presenter: Stephen Lautz, Associate Athletic Dir. of Compliance
Report from the Athletics Compliance Office 
Progress Toward Degree Requirements (PowerPoint file)

Director Lautz present the PowerPoint and there was no discussion.

Unfinished Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
No Unfinished business

New Business: William Sauser, Senate Chair
No New Business

Adjournment: William Sauser, Senate Chair
Meeting adjourned at 4:36 pm