Minutes of the University Senate Meeting
January 15, 2013
3:30 p.m.
Broun Hall Auditorium
Faithfully Submitted by:
Robin Jaffe, University Senate Secretary


For Complete Transcript of the January 15, 2013 University Senate Meeting.

Senate Officers 
Chair, Bill Sauser
Chair-elect, Larry Crowley
Secretary, Robin Jaffe
Secretary-elect, Judy Sheppard

Dean, College of Agriculture, William Batchelor
Interim Dean, COSAM, Chuck Savrda 
Dean, College of Education, Betty Lou Whitford
Dean, School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences, Jim Shepard
Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Anne-Katrin Gramberg
Dean, Graduate School, George Flowers: George Crandell  
Ex-Officio Members:
Provost, Timothy R. Boosinger
GSC President, Glenn Hughes
A&P Assembly Chair, Chuck Hunt
Steering Committee, Laura Plexico
Steering Committee, Larry Teeter
Steering Committee, Michael Baginski
Senators by Departments:
Accountancy, Robert Cochran
Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology, Valentina Hartarska
AAES, Jim Bannon
ACES, Paul Brown
Animal Sciences, Dale Coleman
Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology, Dean Schwartz
Architecture, Joselyn Zanzot
Biosystems Engineering, Sushil Adhikari
Chemical Engineering, Steve Duke
Chemistry, Eduardus Duin
Civil Engineering, Cliff Lange
Communication and Journalism, Robert Agne
Communication Disorders, Daniel Phillips
Computer Science & Software Engineering, Sanjeev Baskiyar
Curriculum & Teaching, Jada Kohlmeier
Economics, Michael Stern
Educational Foundations, Leadership & Technology, Lisa Kensler
Electrical & Computer Engineering, Thomas Baginski                
English, James Goldstein
Entomology & Plant Pathology, Leonardo De La Fuente
Finance, Harris Hollans
Fisheries & Allied Aquaculture, Rusty Wright
Foreign Lang & Literatures, Adrienne Angelo
Forestry & Wildlife Science, Gary Hepp
Geology & Geography, Bill Hames
History, Aaron Shapiro
Horticulture, Fenny Dane
Human Development & Family Studies, Ellen Abell
Industrial Engineering, Jerry Davis
Kinesiology, Jared Russell
Library, Prambanisha King Whaley
Marketing, Herb Rotfeld
Mathematics and Statistics, Dmitry Glotov
Mechanical Engineering, Dong-Joo Kim
Music, Doug Rosener
Nursing, Wm. (Stuart) Pope
Nutrition & Foods, Suresh Mathews
Pathobiology, Vicky van Santen
Pharmacal Sciences, Forest Smith
Pharmacy Care Systems, Brent Fox
Pharmacy Practice, Wesley Lindsey
Philosophy, Guy Rohrbaugh
Physics, Mike Bozack
Political Science, Murray Jardine
Polymer/Fiber Engineering, Gwynedd Thomas
Poultry Science, Shelly McKee 
Psychology, Daniel Svyantek   
Special E. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych: Jill Meyer
Socio/Anthro/Social Work, Emily Myers
Theatre, Chase Bringardner
Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Annette Smith


Absent, sending a substitute: Senator, Substitute:
Dean, CADC, Vini Nathan: Karen Roger
Dean, College of Business, Bill Hardgrave: Joe Hanna
Dean of Libraries, Bonnie MacEwan: Marcia Boosigner
SGA President, Owen Parrish: Melanie Smith 
Aerospace Engineering, Andrew Sinclair: Winfred Foster
Agronomy & Soils, Scott McElroy: Joey Shaw
Biological Sciences, Bob Locy: Steve Kempf
Consumer Affairs, Wi-Suk Kwon: Sang-Eun Byun
Industrial Design, Jerrod Bradley Windham: Christopher Arnold
Management, Peter Stanwick: Sarah Bunn Stanwick
ROTC Army, Scott Copeland: Mary Ledford
ROTC Naval, Richard Fox: Kythia Stofer

Absent, no substitute:
Immediate Past-Chair, Ann Beth Presley
Dean, Harrison School of Pharmacy, R. Lee Evans
Staff Council Chair, Joseph Ellis
Steering Committee, Don Mulvaney
Art, Zdenko Krtic
Aviation Management & Logistics, TBA
Building Sciences, Mark Taylor
Outreach, Chippewa Thomas  
ROTC Air Force, TBA    

Call to Order

• William Sauser: University Senate Chair called the meeting to order, 
reviewed the rules of the senate, and a quorum was established.

• Minutes from November 6, 2012 Senate Meeting were accepted as posted 
without change. 

Remarks and Announcements

Office of the President
Dr. Gogue, President

Dr. Gogue make shared some comments about the upcoming Board of Trustees meeting and what items were of interest.

1) A Certificate in Brewing Science being proposed by the College of Human Sciences
2) A Master’s Degree of Turfgrass Management
3) A Brief update of the Master Plan, with extensive discussion at a later date
4) A Faculty/Student Lounge between Shelby and Lowder Hall
5) A Reaffirming of the Mission Statement by the Board of Trustees

Dr. Gogue also mentioned the progress of the Trustee selection, the academic recognition of two students, and the input needed on the Toomer’s Corner options.

Unversity Senate
Chair William Sauser
presentation (ppt)

Action Items
Rules Committee
Presenter: Robin Jaffe, Senate Secretary
committee appointments (word file)

Appointees were presented
and Approved: 71 to 2

Core Curriculum and General Education Committee
Presenter: Constance Relihan, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies
Chair, Core Curriculum and General Education Committee
Policy Proposal on Midterm Grade reporting
early alert grade proposal (ppt)

In order to facilitate the adjustment of students to the rigors of Auburn University course work, faculty teaching core courses must record in Banner an early alert grade for all students enrolled in those classes one week prior to midterm. This process will permit students to seek tutoring or take other action before the midterm drop deadline.

Policy was presented. Discussion took place (see transcript)
Motion Approved: 42 to 31

University Writing Committee
Presenter: Margaret Marshall, Chair of University Writing Committee
Changes in Membership of the University Writing Committee
Resolution Request (word file)

Resolution Presented, No discussion.
Senate Constitutional Amendment Approved: 67 to 4

Action Items Pending
Teaching Effectiveness Committee
Presenter: Don Mulvaney, Chair of Teaching Effectiveness Committee
Resolution from the Teaching Effectiveness Committee
TEC Resolution 2012 ‐ #1 to Modify Membership

            Resolution reviewed.

Information Items  
ALICE Program
Presenter: Chance Corbert, Associate Dir, Emergency Mgmt
presentation (ppt) 
ALICE training flyer (word file) 

Presentation reviewed. No Discussion

Research Week Presentation
Presenters: Paula Bobrowski, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts
Carl Pinkert, Associate VP for Research
RW presentation (ppt)

            Presentation Reviewed. No Discussion

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee
Presenter: Mary Boudreaux, chair 
priority point system presentation (ppt)

            New policy was presented and discussed.

Unfinished Business: 
William Sauser, Senate Chair

            No unfinished business.

New Business: 
William Sauser, Senate Chair

            No new business.

Adjournment: William Sauser, Senate Chair

            Meeting adjourned 5:10 pm