Minutes of Senate Steering Committee
August 17, 2017, 3:30-4:45
Samford 206

Present:   Dan Svyantek (Chair), Donald Mulvaney (Secretary), James Goldstein (Immediate-Past Chair), Michael Baginski (Chair-Elect), Beverly Marshal (Secretary-Elect), Emmett Winn (Associate Vice-Provost), Lisa Kensler and Jared Russell

Absence: Lucretia Tripp

The meeting was called to order by Dan Svyantek at 3:30 pm and an agenda was provided.

The minutes from June 22, 2017 were approved with no modification.

Information about the International Student Office request for feedback was briefly discussed. A vote was taken to have the policy evaluated by Academic Standards.  The policy will be discussed further at future steering or Senate meetings as needed.

The agenda for the Senate meeting on August 22 which includes remarks from President Leath, a vote on nominees for vacancies on select committee and official announcement of the Critical Conversations Speaker Series to be made by Dr. Taffye Clayton, was discussed and unanimously approved for publication on the web site.

Dan Svyantek made a few announcements about several Senate Committees having vacancies, the need to finalize the Senate Parliamentarian, identify a Senate rep to the Presidential Installation Committee, possible presentations for future Senate agendas, need to discuss after hours parking issues for faculty and a corrected date on the meeting calendar for the steering committee as posted on the web. Dr. Goldstein noted that the calendar, as written, was correct since the executive committee sets the agenda for General Faculty meeting.   

The meeting was adjured at 4:15 PM.

Prepared by:  D. Mulvaney, Secretary, AU Senate