Minutes of the Auburn University Senate Meeting
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
238 Broun Hall
3:30 P.M.
A full transcript is available for this meeting.

Attendance Record
Senate Officers:
Daniel Svyantek, Chair; Don Mulvaney, Secretary; Michael Baginski, Secretary-Elect; James Goldstein, Immediate-Past Chair

Absent: Chair-elect; Beverly Marshall

: George Flowers, Dean of the Graduate School; Janaki Alavalapati, Dean, School of Forestry and Wildlife Science; Richard Hansen, Dean Harrison School of Pharmacy; Bobby Woodard, VP for Student Affairs; Jim Witte for Betty Lou Whitford, Dean College of Education

Absent, not sending substitute:
Taffye Clayton, VP & Assoc. Provost of Inclusion and Diversity; Kelli Shomaker, VP Business and Finance and CFO; Royrickers Cook, Associate Provost and VP for Outreach; Paul Patterson, College of Agriculture

Emmett Winn for Provost Boosinger;  Bonnie MacEwan, Dean of Libraries; Julia Wiard, Interim Director for IDSC for the University College; Lucretia Tripp, Steering; Michael Tillson, Steering;  Jared Russell, Steering Committee

Absent, not sending substitute:  Lawrence Hamberlin, A&P Assembly Chair; Jacqueline Keck, SGA President; Tenchi Smith, GSC President; Charlene Thomas, Staff Council Chair; Committee; Lisa Kensler, Steering Committee.

Senators, by Department

Absent, not sending substitute
Lisa Miller, Accountancy; Werner Bergen, Animal Sciences; Anthony Moss, Biological Sciences; Ann Beth Presley, Consumer and Design Sciences; L iliana Stern, Economics;  David Held, Entomology & Plant Pathology; Latif Kalin, Forestry & Wildlife Science; Daniel Wells, Horticulture; Alan Walker, Management; Dora Bock, Marketing; Daniel Mackowski, Mechanical Engineering; Eric Marcus, Philosophy; Michael Fogle, Physics; Cathleen Erwin, Political Science; Ken Macklin, Poultry; Jeff Welborn, Lieutenant Colonel, ROTC Air Force; Lieutenant Colonel Roshun Steele, ROTC Army

Attending or Represented by Substitute
Brian Thorow for Anwar Ahmed, Aerospace Engineering; Patricia Duffy for Michelle Worosz, Ag Economics and Rural Sociology; Paul Brown, ACES; Chad Faradori, Anatomy Physiology and Pharmacology; Rebecca O'Neal-Dagg, Architecture; Rebecca O’Neal-Dagg, Architecture; Allyson Comstock for Kathryn Floyd, Art; Cliff Defee, Aviation Management; Yi Yang, Biosystems Engineering; Mark Tatum, Building Science; Bryan Bechingham, Chemical Engineering; Doug Goodwin, Chemistry; Cliff Large, Civil Engineering; Ed Youngblood, Communication and Journalism; Allison Plumb, Communication Disorders; David Umphress, Computer Science and Software Engineering; Charles Chen, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences; Melody Russell, Curriculum & Teaching; Forest Smith, Drug Discovery and development; Jung Won Hur, Educational Foundations, Leadership; Jitendra Tugnalt, Electrical & Computer Engineering; James E. Ryan, English; Lee Colquit, Finance; Ash Bullard, Fisheries and Allied Aquaculture; Zachary Zuwiyya, Foreign Lang & Literatures; Ming-kuoo Lee, Geology & Geography; Kimberly Garza, Health Outcomes and Research Policy; Monique Laney, History; Katrina Akande, Human Development and Family Studies; Carlton Lay, Industrial Design; Mark Schall, Industrial and Systems Engineering; Andreas Kavazis, Kinesiology; Greg Schmidt, Library; Dmitry Glotov, Mathematics and Statistics; Matthew Hoch, Music; David Crumbley, Nursing; Yee Ming Lee, Nutrition, Dietetics, & Hospitality Mgmt.; Chippewa Thomas, Outreach; Vicky van Santen, Pathobiology; Spencer Durham, Pharmacy Practice; Tracy Witte, Psychology; Malti Tuttle, Special Ed. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych.;Kimberly McCadden for CaptainWillie Billingslea, ROTC Navy; Arianne Gaetano, Socio/Anthro/Social Work; Robin Jaffe, Theatre; Annette Smith, Veterinary Clinical Sciences;  EMD for Andrew Chicoine for Captain Willie Billingslea, ROTC Naval; Arianne Gaetano, Socio/Anthr/Social Work; Robin Jaffe, Theatre; Annette Smith, Veterinary Clinical Sciences.


At 3:40 PM, Chair Dan Svyantek called the meeting to order and reminded the members of the senate or substitute for a senator to sign in in the back of the room and for substitutes to sign in by printing his/her name on the 2nd column by the senator. He also reminded the Senator rules about speaking at Senate meetings. A quorum requiring 45senators was established.

The minutes of the November 14, 2017 Senate meeting were approved without modification by voice vote.

Remarks and Announcements

Office of the Provost or President
Both President Leath and Provost Boosinger were away from campus and unable to attend. 
Questions:  None

Comments by University Senate Chair, Daniel Svyantek

Chair Svyantek introduced the Senate officers, administrative assistant Laura Kloberg and Jim Witte as parliamentarian. 

Agenda Information Items:

Unfinished Business:
Dan Svyantek, Senate Chair

New Business

Dan Svyantek, Senate Chair 
Dan Svyantek, Senate Chair, declared adjournment of the meeting at 4:39 pm.