Minutes of the Auburn University Senate Meeting
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
238 Broun Hall Auditorium
3:30 P.M.

A full transcript is available for this meeting.


James Goldstein, Chair; Xing Ping Hu, Secretary; Larry Teeter, Immediate-Past Chair

Don Large, Executive VP; Gretchen VanValkenburg, VP, Alumni Affairs; John Mason, Research and Economic Development; Vini Nathan, Dean, College of Architecture, Design & Const.; June Henton, Dean, College of Human Sciences;

Bonnie MacEwan, Dean of Libraries; Lucretia Tripp, Steering Committee; Emily Myers, Steering Committee; Jared Russell, Steering Committee; Lisa Kensler, Steering Committee

Absent, sending substitute:
Cova Arias for Paul Patterson, College of Agriculture; Elizabeth Devore for Tenchi Smith, GSC President;

Absent, not sending substitute:  Daniel Svyantek, Chair-Elect; Donald Mulvaney, Secretary-Elect;; Jane Difolco Parker, VP, Development; Janaki Alavalapati, Dean, School of Forestry and Wildlife Science; Bobby Woodard, VP, Student Affairs; Jesse Westerhouse, SGA President; Althea Tate, Staff Council Chair; Timothy Jones, A&P Assembly Chair;

Senators, by Department:
Robert Cochran, Accountancy; Anwar Ahmed, Aerospace Engineering; Paul Brown, ACES; Rebecca O'Neal-Dagg, Architecture; Kathryn Floyd, Art; Cliff Defee, Aviation Management & Logistics; Bob Locy, Biological Sciences; Mark Taylor, Building Sciences; Allan E. David, Chemical Engineering; Doug Goodwin, Chemistry; Ed Youngblood, Communication and Journalism; Allison Plumb, Communication Disorders; David Umphress, Computer Science & Software Engineering; Charles Chen, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences; Melody Russell, Curriculum & Teaching; Forest Smith, Drug Discovery and Development; Michael Baginski (Electrical & Computer Engineering); David Held, Entomology and Plant Pathology; Justin Benefield, Finance; Rusty Wright, Fisheries & Allied Aquaculture; Traci O'Brian, Foreign Lang & Literatures; Ming-kuo Lee, Geology & Geography; Brent Fox, Health Outcomes and Research Policy; Monique Laney, History; Daniel Wells, Horticulture; Mark Schall, Industrial and Systems Engineering; Andreas Kavazis, Kinesiology; Gregg Schmidt, Library; Alan Walker, Management; Dora Bock, Marketing; Dmitry Glotov, Mathematics and Statistics; Daniel Mackowski, Mechanical Engineering; David Crumbley, Nursing; Michael Greene, Nutrition, Dietetics, & Hospitality Mgmt.; Spencer Durham, Pharmacy Practice; Eric Marcus, Philosophy; Michael Fogle, Physics; Cathleen Erwin, Political Science; Ken Macklin, Poultry Science; Tracy Witte, Psychology; Marilyn Cornish, Special Ed. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych; Jeff Welborn, Lieutenant Colonel, ROTC Air Force; Roshun Steele, Maj., ROTC Army Kristrina (Kriste) Shuler, Socio/Anthro/Social Work; Annette Smith, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Adrienne Wilson (theatre)                                          

Absent, sending substitute:
Harris Hollans for Justin Benefield, Finance; David Blersch for Mark Dougherty, Biosystems Engineering; Jim Witte for Jung Won Hur, Educational Foundations, Leadership & Technology; Craig Bertolet for James E. Ryan, English; Graeme Lochay for Latif Kalin, Forestry & Wildlife Science; Pete Christopherson for Vicky van Santen, Pathobiology

Absent, not sending substitute: Michelle Worosz, Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology; Werner Bergen, Animal Science; Dean Schwartz, Anatomy, Physiology & Pharmacology; Cliff Lange, Civil Engineering; Ann Beth Presley, Consumer & Design Sciences; Liliana Stern, Economics; Tom Smith, Human Development & Family Studies; Jerod Windham, Industrial Design; Matthew Hoch, Music; ; Captain, Willie Billingslea, ROTC Naval


At 3:30 PM Chair James Goldstein called the meeting to order.  James reminded the Senators to sign in in the back of the room and get a clicker; substitute to initial in the 2nd column by the name of the senator.  He then reminded senators of the rules of attendance and the rules for speaking at the microphone. He announced a quorum requiring 44 senators was established.

The minutes of the September 20, 2016 Senate meeting were approved without modifications.

Remarks and Announcements

Office of the President, Jay Gogue, President

In November general election there is a constitutional amendment relative to Auburn.  Amendment 1.  There is an effort to allow structure in the way trustees rotate off the board, not age-related.

Questions: None

University Senate Chair, James Goldstein
Presidential Search update: Senate officers met with Trustees, stressed preference of the next president with an academic credentials and supporting academic freedom

Announced call for volunteers to run Senate Officers
. The call will be sent to faculty email this week. Should contact Laura Plexico.

Committee works
: Academic Standards: surveys are out to faculty and student; Calendar and schedules committee; Ad hoc committee on summer fringe and Ad hoc on leave share. The Senate chair or designee will serve on the new institutional compliance committee.
Note: Library will be closed over the semester break.

Action Items


Information Items
IT plans and revised policies
James O’Connor (CIO) presented on Higher Education and Technology (ppt).
Mr O’Connor presented IT plan and his first year goal: develop a strategic plan for a 3-5 year program to deploy best practices for cyber security while balancing service delivery and privacy. Campus will be engaged in process.  
Bliss Bailey (Executive Director, Office of IT) presented IT policy review and update of four policies:

  1. Appropriate use – AU IT resource by following the law and AU/College policies
  2. Eligibility AU computing account
  3. Electronic and IT accessibility
  4. Faculty-Employee-Student email policy

Rusty Wright (Fishery):  concerns over the use of remote distance software Zoom.
Bliss: Zoom is AU proved.

Unfinished Business:

James Goldstein, Senate Chair

New Business
: James Goldstein, Senate Chair

: James Goldstein, Senate Chair
Meeting adjourned 4:00 pm