Auburn University Senate Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Room 113a Lowder
3:30 PM

A full transcript is available for this meeting.


James Goldstein, Chair; Daniel Svyantek, Chair-Elect; Xing Ping Hu, Secretary; Donald Mulvaney, Secretary-Elect; Larry Teeter, Immediate-Past Chair

Don Large, Executive VP; Gretchen VanValkenburg, VP, Alumni Affairs; Jane Difolco Parker, VP, Development; Vini Nathan, Dean, College of Architecture, Design & Const.; Janaki Alavalapati, Dean, School of Forestry and Wildlife Science;

Bonnie MacEwan, Dean of Libraries; Althea Tate, Staff Council Chair; Timothy Jones, A&P Assembly Chair; Lucretia Tripp, Steering Committee; Emily Myers, Steering Committee; Jared Russell, Steering Committee; Lisa Kensler, Steering Committee.

Absent, sending substitute:
John Liu for John Mason (VP-RED), Amy Wright for Paul Patterson (Agriculture).

Absent, not sending substitute:
June Henton, Dean, College of Human Sciences; Bobby Woodard, VP, Student Affairs; Timothy Boosinger, Provost; Jacqueline Keck SGA President; Tenchi Smith, GSC President.

Senators, by Department:
Michelle Worosz, Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology; Paul Brown, ACES; Rebecca O'Neal-Dagg, Architecture; Kathryn Floyd, Art; Cliff Defee, Aviation Management & Logistics; Mark Dougherty, Biosystems Engineering; Allan E. David, Chemical Engineering; Doug Goodwin, Chemistry; Ed Youngblood, Communication and Journalism; Allison Plumb, Communication Disorders; Melody Russell, Curriculum & Teaching; Liliana Stern, Economics; Jung Won Hur, Educational Foundations, Leadership & Technology; Michael Baginski (Electrical & Computer Engineering), James E. Ryan, English; Rusty Wright, Fisheries & Allied Aquaculture; Latif Kalin, Forestry & Wildlife Science; Brent Fox, Health Outcomes and Research Policy; Monique Laney, History; Jerod Windham, Industrial Design; Mark Schall, Industrial and Systems Engineering; Andreas Kavazis, Kinesiology; Gregg Schmidt, Library; Dora Bock, Marketing; Dmitry Glotov, Mathematics and Statistics; Matthew Hoch, Music; Chippewa Thomas, Outreach; Vicky van Santen, Pathobiology; Spencer Durham, Pharmacy Practice; Eric Marcus, Philosophy; Michael Fogle, Physics; Cathleen Erwin, Political Science; Ken Macklin, Poultry Science; Marilyn Cornish, Special Ed. Rehabilitation Counseling/School Psych; Jeff Welborn, Lieutenant Colonel, ROTC Air Force; Roshun Steele, Maj., ROTC Army; Captain, Willie Billingslea, ROTC Naval; Kristrina (Kriste) Shuler, Socio/Anthro/Social Work; Annette Smith, Veterinary Clinical Sciences.                        

Absent, sending substitute:
Brian Vansant for Robert Cochran Accountancy; Chad Foradori for Dean Schwartz Anatomy, Physiology & Pharmacology; Carol Warfield for Ann Beth Presley Consumer & Design Sciences; Thorsten Knappenberger for Charles Chen Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences; Lee Colquott for Justin Benefield Finance; Pedro Cebolleng for Traci O'Brian Foreign Lang & Literatures; Chong Ma for Ming-kuo Lee Geology & Geography; Kevin Huggins for Michael Greene Nutrition, Dietetics, & Hospitality Mgmt.; Ana Franco-Watkins for Tracy Witte, Psychology.

Absent, not sending substitute:
Anwar Ahmed, Aerospace Engineering; Werner Bergen, Animal Science; Bob Locy, Biological Sciences; Mark Taylor, Building Sciences; Daniel Mackowski, Mechanical Engineering; Cliff Lange, Civil Engineering; David Umphress, Computer Science & Software Engineering; Forest Smith, Drug Discovery and Development; David Held, Entomology and Plant Pathology; Daniel Wells, Horticulture; Tom Smith, Human Development & Family Studies; Alan Walker, Management; Daniel Mackowski, Mechnical Engineering; David Crumbley, Nursing; Adrienne Wilson (theatre).    


At 3:30 PM Chair James Goldstein called the meeting to order and reminded the senators of the rules of speaking at Senate meetings. He asked the members of the Senate to sign in in the back of the room and get a clicker, and substitute to sign in by printing his/her name on the 2nd column by the senator. He then established a quorum of 45 present using clickers.

The minutes for Senate meeting of April 18th, 2017 were approved without modifications.

Remarks and Announcements

Office of the President: Jay Gogue, President
Thanked all faculty members for the collaboration on April 18th.  He then reviewed a few items that will close out the regular legislative session from the state, including the several bills that have been introduced or forwarded to relative committees. The Education Trust Fund is expected to provide level funding.  The campus-carry gun bill is not expected to be passed in this session.. He introduced several items that will be on the next AU Trustee board on June 9th, including 12 name changes in College of Ag, budget for 2018, etc. He then invited Jim O’Connor, Chief information officer of OIT to present update about programs/resources for cyber security.

Questions: None

University Senate Chair: James Goldstein
There will be one more Senate meeting in June before the term ends for the current Senate officers. He shared with the Senate that our new president has scheduled a meeting with Senate officers in June.

Questions: None

Action Items

1. Approval of nominees for Senate Committees for academic year 2017-18

Presenter: Xing Ping Hu

A slate of nominees for Senate Committees was presented to the Senate. There was no question and a vote was called. The motion was carried with a vote of (54 - 0), a 100% in favor of the slate of names.

2. Revision of Student Academic Grievance Policy.

Presenter: Robert Agne, Chair of Student Academic Grievance Committee.

The revision was presented, as a pending action item, to Senate at the April meeting.
There was no question and the Senate Chair called for a vote. The resolution was passed by Senate voting (54-1).

3. Revision of Faculty Handbook on new tenure calendar

Presenter: James Goldstein, Previous Chair, Faculty Handbook Review Committee.

Senate already approved the change to this policy at March meeting. This action was to vote on simple language change.

There was no question and the Senate Chair called for a vote. The resolution was passed by senate voting (51-4).

Pending Action Item

Proposal for eligibility of certain non-tenure-track faculty for emeritus status

Presenter: Barbara Brumbaugh, Chair, Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Committee
This proposal will be brought to Senate for voting in June meeting.

Question: None

Information Item

Revision of questions on Student Evaluations of Teaching

Presenter: Todd Steury, Chair, Teaching Effectiveness Committee

The 7 questions were designed corresponding to the 7 principles for good practice in undergraduate education by American Association for Higher Education in 1987.

Questions: none.

Unfinished Business: James Goldstein, Senate Chair

New Business: James Goldstein, Senate Chair

: James Goldstein, Senate Chair, announced the meeting adjourned at 4:05 PM.